Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

2009-01-07 10:03 p.m.

Wacky Wednesday

I was going to wait to post until I knew everything, but I don't want anyone to think it's worse than it is either.

Terry has been tested, (once again) for everything. The feeling is that he had a TIA, or mini-stroke. He had an all-day episode on Monday. His eyes were open and he would answer "yup" to my question of if he was okay, but not really any other communication. He would stare right at me, but he wasn't in there. He didn't take any of his pills and he didn't want coffee. He just sat in his chair with his eyes closed. When I would speak, he would open them, but not focus. When the office opened at 9:30, I decided to call the doctor and he had me call for the ambulance.

The doctor called me about an hour later and told me they were admitting him. He agreed with me about the TIA. For some reason I still don't know what the catscan showed yet. The pulmonologist tried to get the report this morning and it still hadn't been read. I will find out tomorrow or there will be a problem.

Terry's other problem is that he has had two severe asthma-like attacks today. His lungs keep filling up with fluid and they keep pounding him with lasix to get rid of it. Again, I am scared about that but otherwise, he is back to his old self. That would explain it if it were a TIA because that usually resolves itself within twenty-four hours. Once again it is a wait and see.

I really am almost hoping it was a TIA. There is treatment to fix that and avoid a full stroke. I would rather they fix it than to see him like that again. It was very eerie. he wasn't slurring his words or anything. He was just not there.

If that wasn't enough on Monday, on Tuesday night my sister, Nancy, calls to say that she is in the hospital. As of 9:00 this morning, she is now wearing a pacemaker, or pacer as she calls it. She has been having a problem with an erratic heartbeat for a long time. They have discussed the possiblity of her eventually getting a pacemaker but the decision was made for her.

She decided to get some groceries. First, she shoveled out her truck and then drove to the store. One minute she was walking down the aisle pushing the cart and the next, she was waking up in an abulance with a heart rate of 39. She told them she didn't wannt to go to the hospital so they had to let her go. By the time she got out of the ambulance, she was almost back to normal so she drove home. Yesterday, she called her doctor who ordered her to get her butt right into the hopital. Do not pass go, do not collect $200.00.

I spoke with her las night. She wasn't scared or upset. She was excited. It will give her her life back. She hasn't been able to do much lately without getting exhausted and with a 3 year old grandaughter, that is just not acceptable!!

He husband called sister Stella after surgery and said all went well. Stella called me, I called Pete and Carol, Carol called Ed and I Emailed Dale. Ya, we be close.


In my email today, I received a bit of useful hints. It is ways to use that plain old paper coffee filter that I never would have thought of. Well, in all fairness, when it says "COFFEE FILTER" on the label, you think coffee. You don't think "bacon" or "oil". Well, here are some other ways to use them and at a price of 300 for $1.00 at the Dollar Store, why not?

COFFEE FILTERS: Not just for making coffee....

1. Cover bowls or dishes when cooking in the microwave. Coffee filters make excellent covers.

2. Clean windows and mirrors. Coffee filters are lint-free so they'll leave windows sparkling.

3. Protect China. Separate your good dishes by putting a coffee filter between each dish.

4. Filter broken cork from wine. If you break the cork when opening a wine bottle, filter the wine through a coffee filter.

5. Protect a cast-iron skillet. Place a coffee filter in the skillet to absorb moisture and prevent rust.

6. Apply shoe polish. Ball up a lint-free coffee filter.

7. Recycle frying oil. After frying, strain oil through a sieve lined with a coffee filter.

8. Weigh chopped foods. Place chopped ingredients in a coffee filter on a kitchen scale.

9. Hold tacos. Coffee filters make convenient wrappers for messy foods.

10. Stop the soil from leaking out of a plant pot. Line a plant pot with a coffee filter to prevent the soil from going through the drainage holes.

11. Prevent a Popsicle from dripping. Poke one or two holes as needed in a coffee filter.

12. Do you think we used expensive strips to wax eyebrows? Use strips of coffee filters.

13. Put a few in a plate and put your fried bacon, French fries, chicken fingers, etc on them. Soaks out all the grease.

14. Keep in the bathroom. They make great "razor nick fixers.

I do question a few of them.

Number 3. What do they mean, good dishes? All my corningware is good.

Number 4, I don't understand. I just unscrew the cap.

Number 6? Toss those suckers in the trash. If they need polish, I need new shoes. At $5.00 a pair, I don't do polish. Besides, who polishes their sneakers?

Number 12? What is up with that? I have never waxed my eyebrows in my life. I was once told by a cosmetologist (neener) that I should never pluck my eyebrows because they were perfectly shaped. And for the last 40 years, I have believed that. And now with my 55 year old eyes, I can't see them clearly anymore. see how well that works? When old age starts messing with your eyesight the last thing you really want to do is aim a sharp instrument at you face.

Last but not least, number 14. Ha! I tried wetting a bit of tissue when I had razor nicks once. I must have had 6 or 8 dabs of paper stuck on the spots. I forgot about them and the next time I went pee, I though I had genital dandruff!!! Yes, I am kidding! Damn, come on. Like I would be that stupid! I use nair.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen