Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

2009-01-08 10:56 p.m.

More of the same....

And in the span of an few hours..... (See previous entry)

The Doctor called. Terry did have a TIA, but there is no way of telling when. It could have been a while ago. This "episode" was a stroke. The doctor is confident all his side effects will go away.

Unfortunately, his lungs are still not improved and he has had a total of 5 "attacks" since yesterday. He had a very severe one tonight and they took him up to ICU. He is now on a C-Pak, some medication to get the "mucus plugs" up and out, and dilaudid to keep his resperation low so he won't go into another attack or hyperventilate.

I was able to talk to him for a minute. The wonderful nurse took in the portable phone so I could talk to him.

He told me he made the doctor tear up the Advanced Directive on his side table telling him (the docotr) that I got pissed when they had him sign it. I knew he must have been dellusional. No hospital has a patient make out a form like that in the first place, let alone without family present and on morphine!

I called back and talked to his nurse. She assured me that he is indeed under the influence but that the machine and meds are working well. Hopefully, this will be the turning point.

When our doctor first called me, I did something I haven't done in the thirteen years we have been together. Not when he went through his 18 surgeries on his legs. Not when he had bladder cancer. Not when he has had pneumonia, kidny infections nor anything else. I finally broke into tears. It was just the straw that broke the camels back. I cried because the last conversation we had before being told he was going to ICU was interrupted when his nurse came in to do a treatment earlier and he hung up before I could say, "I love you." When I was told he was going to ICU, I lost it. The doctor told me that I didn't have to worry about not seeing him again. He said it was way to early to think about that, but it didn't help. I feel better now. Talking to him, even though he was a bit FUBAR was what I needed. I just had to say "I love you." I can sleep now.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen