Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

2009-01-11 10:52 p.m.

Well we've got Hiiigh hopes, we've got Hiiigh hopes...

Okay, so maybe I was reaching just a tad high.

I guess Terry is going to have to talk to our doctor again tomorrow. This time, it will be about his partner.

After Terry's many amputations, he was put on many different medications for pain management. They tried him on so many, I've forgotten most of the names. Effexor and neurontin to name a few. He had a tens unit permantly installed under the skin on the side of his stomach.

None of the above worked. He was in constant pain for a long time. Finally his previous doctor put him on a medication that worked. I won't list it here because of all the g00glers but suffice it to say that it is heavy duty and it works.

It manages pain but since he has been on it for 8 years, any "recreational use" would be totally useless. I can tell twenty minutes after he has taken it because he looks tired for about 10 minutes. Then it passes. It takes care of his nerve pain and the phantom pain, but nothing more.

Well, Dr. On-call went into the room around 10:00 this morning and left. Terry takes his pain pill at noon. He never gave it a thought until about 2:00. He noticed his stumpes were really starting to hurt and rang for the nurse. When she came in he asked why he hadn't had his noon pill yet and she told him Dr. On-call stopped them. He said he had been on them too long.

WTF??? What gives an on-call doctor the right to change meds of a man he has never met and the patient of a doctor you have only been in partnership with for a few months. And Why on this God's green earth would you do this to a man who has been taking them for 8 years????

By 2:30 he was in real pain and sweating his butt off and starting to get shaky. His nurse called Dr. On-call and reamed him a good one. Within 5 minutes, she came in with his pill. Thank God for nurses.

He is still wearing the C-Pak and the fluid is still forming. The upside is overall, he feels better. They were giving him more dilaudid than his prescription was for to keep him mellow so he wouldn't hyperventilate. He get paniky when they put the mask on him.

A few years ago, he was diagnosed with sleep apnea. The fit him with a C-pak then. When he got upset about wearing it this time, they just gave him more meds to relax.

He was telling me this yesterday. Some of my best stuff comes from our conversations. I couldn't make this stuff up if I tried.

Terry: Remember how that other mask broke that bone in my face and I ended up with water in my ear and went deaf?"

I said, "Yes, I did.

He said, "I tried to tell the nurse and she laughed at me."

I said, "Why would she laugh at that?"

"I don't know." he said. "I explained that the I put the C-pak they gave me on my face and it was too tight and it broke my scrotum and I ended up deaf for 6 months because of water in my ear."

Me: "well, honey if indeed you could tighten that around your face so tight it would break your scrotum, I would probably think it was funny to since you ended up with a DEVIATED SEPTUM!!

Him: "Oh"

A little while later, Lori came up with the girls. I was having that conversation with Lori and then realized the girls were listening. Brittni wasn't here or I am sure at 16, she would have laughed. The other two just looked at us. I said "Whoops". Lori said, "They know what you're talking about. I told her I doubted if they would know that word, though they do know the anatomy and correct words.

Lori has always called them by their medical or anatomical name. So she asked Deja what a scrotum was. She said she didn't know. Lori then asked that the difference is between a boy and a girl ... down there. She still didn't know. Trust me, she does know with all the little boy babies she has seen, she just didn't know the words.

One more attempt was made. Lori asks her, "What are those things a boy has two of down there. Her answer? Tenticles. I said, that's right Deja, if the boy is an octopus! We left it at that. At lease it showed me she doen't know about those things yet. Nope, not until she ended the conversation with, OOOOOOh, I know what you mean. Billy calls that his ball sack.

The world is running way too fast for me. Deja goes to middle school. She is in 6th grade and 11 years old. There is also a 7th and 8th. One little girl in her school is pregnant. They don't even wait for High School now.

Anyway, Thanks for the gazooninth time for all the well wishes. Believe me, I read everyone to him when he gets home. A few I have had to read him over the phone, (KATHY!)(GOLF)He eats them right up. He is really bumming becaue I can't get up there and Lori has so much going on, she doesn't have much time up there either. She has to go up to take is underwear tomorrow, but she will drop and run.

If anyone would like to call him and wish him well, email me for the phone number. It would tickle him silly. His breathing machine is a tad noisey, but with no TV on you can hear him Okay and you will be treated to that Gentlmanly Brittish accent.

I wouldn't suggest it if he weren't in his right mind. He gets confused about who said what, but if you tell him your name on the diary and where you live, he will know who you are. He has a good memory of all of you. I called Golfwidow yesterday and told him. Immediately he said, Oh, that's L'Empress's daughter you met in CT. He knows Kathy with the jewelry, he knows LA with the hair, he knows rosie as the singer and poolie as the San Diego Pirate. Call him. Again, he would be tickled pink.

Well, I'm going to hit the sack. I'm having trouble keeping my eyes open.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen