Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

2009-02-15 12:00 a.m.

I Get my Valentine Tomorrow.

Well, another situation started , dealt with and over.

Terry had been getting better daily, but there was still something starting up that I couldn�t put my finger on. I was driving him crazy asking if he was alright. I knew around the 7th. Something was off but I couldn�t name it. He was okay from the 31st when I posted but a week later, he was back to staring at walls, falling asleep every 15 minutes and at one point, he overflowed the coffeepot and sat in the middle of the mess and napped until I went out and woke him.

The same thing happened the next day. I called the doctor and he told me to stop his sleeping pills. They were messing with another med, he thought and were causing the problem. Not entirely, I was to find out.

For another two days, without the sleeping pills, he seemed almost back to normal. I knew there was still something wrong. He was talking fine, acting fine and even went shopping, but I knew something was still wrong. I don�t know how, but I did.

The 11th he was fine all day. At 10:30 he was totally in the twilight zone. He didn�t know how to turn on his chair. He couldn�t remember how to work the TV remote and I told him he would be cooler if he plugged the fan into his extension cord he used for charging his chair and he told me he didn�t know how to do it. I proceeded to do something I have never done as long as I can remember. I started bawling like a baby. I was crying so hard, he wouldn�t understand what I was saying.

He asked what I wanted him to do and I told him I couldn�t deal anymore and I needed him to go back to the hospital until they fixed him. He got so upset he offered to call medcue to come and get him. Then I felt bad for making him feel bad. I was a blubbering mess. They came and took him. When this happens, I feel like I have abandoned him. I know I haven�t. He knows I haven�t. I can�t go with him and he knows that. He doesn�t go with me either. It is the way we have to do it. He can�t sit for hours in his chair and I can�t sit for hours with one tank of O2.

Well, after all was said and done, his main problems were, low oxygen to the brain from a bleed in his stomach due to gastroenteritis. After two transfusions, colonoscopy, removal of 5 polyps, putting him on plavix, barring him from salt and fried foods, Making us toss our all our ibuprofen, telling him to stop turning up the O2 on his oxygen (that caused retention of carbon dioxide which also makes you wonky) they will be sending him home tomorrow. They have to test his blood first and will be testing him weekly in the future. When they tested his hemoglobin in the hospital, it was 9. Normal is 13. He was very anemic, hence the transfusions.

This is the first time in weeks that I finally feel he is going to be okay. I did get a bit snarky and told his doctor that I couldn�t understand why his mental status wasn�t addressed the last time he was in the hospital. I know his pneumonia was very serious, but he went in with a TIA and that was put on the back burner and forgotten. At least now he will be on the Plavix.

Hopefully, next year at this time this past couple of months will all be a bad memory. In the meantime, I am starting to give stuff to Lori that I will never use again and weeding out my clothes, dishes, kitchenware and the rest of our stuff. If I haven�t used it in six months, out it goes. I�m not moving anything I won�t be using. Downsizing at home can be a good thing.

I see my pulmonologist Monday and my Cardiologist on Wednesday. Other than that, I am crossing my fingers there will be no more medical stuff to think about for the next six months! I know if I am this tired of writing about it, you guys must be way tired of reading about it. Like I said before, this is the way I record things I may have to go back to, so sorry if it has you so bored your eyes bleed. I will make you more interested (maybe) next time.

Just cross fingers he comes home tomorrow, okay? Thanks

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen