Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

2008-04-04 4:08 p.m.

My New Job

Okay folks. I need your help. I said that when I got all my paperwork caught up and all out insurances and medical stuff into a more even keel, I wanted to start my own site. Not a diary. As I have said before, I am keeping my diary here.

First let me tell you a little more about what I want to do.

Let's start with a hypothetical situation. We have a girl. We will call her Coleen. I always wanted that to be my name. Okay, Coleen has three children. They are all in school and she has a job at the local department store. They live in Washington state. She is not lazy and she is in fair health.

The problem Coleen has is that her husband has been using her for a punching bag.

There is a shelter nearby, but Coleen is terrified to leave hubby because she is afraid he will come after her.

Coleen has a school friend in Vermont. He husband doesn't know about this friend. This friend has told Coleen that she can stay with her til she gets on her feet.

It is all so overwhelming for Coleen until she finds one website that can give her the name and address for every place she needs to go in this town for help with food, shelter and everything else she will need when she arrives.

One website that looks up the address, makes the calls and comes up with one list. This list will have the names of places, addresses and telephone numbers for the temporary welfare, the schools, the classified list of jobs and the local churches, police numbers and courthouse.

Armed with a list of everyone she will need to contact when she gets there, she may feel a little less intimidated and feel like she has at least a little control of her life. She just might do it.

I would not offer legal advice, but can give them the name, address and phone number of the legal aid service for any city in the United States.

I would not offer medical advice, but could offer the name, address, and phone number of the closest clinic to where they will be going.

What would it cost them? Nothing.

All they would need to do is set up an email account at gmail or yahoo that they could access from anywhere and I could email it to them. Once they get to where they are going, they will be armed with every bit of information they will need.

I know this is information that they can get themselves, but many people are so overwhelmed at everything they will need to know, they never make the first move. Some simply don't know where to start. Others don't know how to research.

This could also help those thinking of relocating to go to school in a particular place. Maybe they don't have time to look up all the ads for apartments, or where to find the local things they need to check on.

They can email me with their situation and where they are going and I will research everything I can for them. I don't image it will take long and as I am doing it, I am building a database. As time goes on, it will take less and less time.

I have to do this. I have to do something more than watch TV and play games. I need to do something worthwhile.

I can swing the money for hosting the site and my domain name. I have unlimited calling on my home phone. This will literally cost me nothing but my time.

I have a bad day? I don't work. I have doctor's appointments? I take off. I run it so I answer to no one.

The pay will kind of suck, as in there will be none, but hey, I was blessed for thirteen years with a job that had a decent enough pension plan that between the two of us, we can pay bills and eat regular. So this is my new "job." If it should ever expand to where I have to start spending money, there are always government grants or private sources I could tap if I had to.

Now. Why I need your help. I have been bouncing names around. I want a name that is easy to remember. It needs to be a name that sort of speaks of what I do. It also needs to be available for a domain name. Also the shorter the better.

I was thinking "A Port in the Storm." I'm not sure. So I am leaving this page up for the next few days and I hope you will think on if for a minute and leave me some ideas in my comments.

Please don't be upset if I don't use any of the suggestions. It just has to feel right.

So, go ahead. Hit me with your best shot.


Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen