Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

2008-04-22 8:01 p.m.

Tacky Tuesday

Am I the only one who knows or cares who Stanley Kamel is? Just curious.

Last night hubby and I were sitting in the living room and I said to him,

"I never want to live in a vegetative state, dependent on some machine and fluids from a bottle to keep me alive. That would be no quality of life at all. If that ever happens, just pull the plug."

So he got up, unplugged my computer, and threw out my whisky and coke.

He's such a bitch.

Ya, I know, you've heard that one before. I still like it.

***

I have a story to tell you. It is a true story. It happened to me yesterday.


I think I have mentioned once or twice, but our mailbox is down at the end of our driveway. Our driveway is about 250 feet from the front of the house. Terry goes every day to get the mail. After he get�s it, he leaves the cover open. It is one of those rounded mailboxes that sits on a platform.

On rainy days, the mailman puts the mail in even when the box is obviously wet. He has no other choice.

Well, I sat here yesterday looking at Terry while he watched out the window and realized there has to be a better way. I told Terry,

�I think I need to invent a new mailbox. �

�What do you mean?� he asked.

�Well�, I said, �I have an idea. On the right side of the box, you have a red flag that you put up if you have outgoing mail. Why not a yellow one for the other side for the mail carrier to put up when he delivers?�

Then I thought about it some more. No, you couldn�t have anything that would require the carrier to do anything. It wouldn�t be in their job description to put the flag up. You could, I suppose ask the Postmaster General to include it in their Policy and Procedures manual. Then, of course, they would have to run it by the Union. Never mind.

I had to rethink it.

Okay, what if I designed a box that you could rig yourself so that when the door was opened a little flag would pop up on it�s own? Then after you take the mail out, you just reset it! Yes! What a concept!! I searched online for a company to float the idea by. Then I checked out the patent office to remind myself the ins and outs of submitting an idea and design specs.

I started by writing a letter of intent with my idea. I wrote and wrote some more. Then I had an epiphany (neener.) If I had this wonderful novel idea at the ripe old age of 54, did someone else have a similar idea and I just never knew it?

DAMN




Yup, That�s for us. Elderly, handicapped and lazy!

it would seem that the first patent was in 1953. The year I was born. Spoooooky, huh? Then next time was when I was exactly to-the-month 10 years old. After that, there were only two or three more, but yes, it is in effect.

That really sucks to come up with a great idea only to find that someone else already did. The good news is that I don�t have to wait for the patent to be approved, find a designer, and get the financial backing. I also don�t have to wait for them to be mass marketed, and go into the stores at outrageous prices.

Nope, I can skip all that and drop $20.00 and have one ready to go in about 5 to 7 business days.

Well, gotta run. Have to order a mailbox.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen