Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

2008-05-18 11:27 a.m.

points to ponder

First of all, I want to tell those that care that I am dropping out of Twitter. I don�t get it, I don�t have time to get it and I don�t really care to get it. People have my name, my address, my diary address, my phone number (in many cases) and my email. If you know my email, you can also reach me on Yahoo instant messenger. I no longer have AIM because it kept messing with my computer. I am sure I can even be found on a google search.

I keep forgetting to go into it (Twitter) and when I do, I feel the need to sit there and keep hitting the refresh button to find out what�s going on with everyone. While this is going on, I am not reading diaries, I am not getting exercise, and I am not doing anything else. Though I love all the people I am following in there, I don�t remember to go in enough to keep it. That�s just my opinion.

As it is, I am still way behind on my diary reads because I read that many people. I am going through and deleting anyone that hasn�t updated in over 3 months, but that won�t bring down the numbers much. Some of you update so often (and yes, that is a good thing) that I have to hit the previous button a dozen times to catch up. No, I can�t just read the current entry because I might miss something.

Reading diaries is becoming like reading the Bible. No, dear Lord, not in the religious sense. What I mean is that I have tried to read the Bible. I started on page one back when I was probably 8 years old or so. I got to page three and didn�t get back to it for awhile. And if those of you who do know the Bible recollect, the first part of the Bible is a whole lot of this one begat this one and moved here and that one begat that one and moved there. There�s so much begetting and begetting that when I finally got the time to pick it up again, I had forgotten all I had read and I had to start over.

This ritual has occurred perhaps 10 to 20 times over my lifetime. No, I have never gotten past the book of Genesis. No, I have not even gotten a quarter through the book of Genesis. I do know a lot of the Bible though. Thank you, Jeopardy.

My diary reads are much like that. I can probable tell you easier what you were doing a month ago than I can tell you about 3 days ago. Why? Three days ago hasn�t happened yet. It makes sense if you read it again. Several times.

*************************

Recently I had reason to read the words Haricot Vert (Hi! Golfwidow!) I didn�t know what it meant, so, of course, I looked it up. For those of you who also know little or no French, it means green beans. I signed in her comments that the term really made me look again at Oeufs et jambon verts Which means Green Eggs and Ham That got me thinking. Jambon is French for Ham. Hmmm. That sounds a lot like the beginning of jambalaya. I looked up the recipe for Jambalaya. I�m sure Shear can be considered an expert on this but I wanted to look at several recipes. I did a search and I found Jambalaya with chicken, I found Jambalaya with shrimp, I found Jambalaya with sausage and I found Jambalaya with a combination of the above meats, but damned if I could find even one with ham. So here is what I propose:

If it is made with chicken, we rename it Pouletalya.

If it is made with shrimp, we rename it lacrevettelya.

If it is made with sausage, we rename it saucisselya

Or;

We can throw in any of the above means, change a couple letters and rename it Jumbleaya!

And I also deduced (neener) that the only people that can correctly call it Jambalaya are the Mexicans, who would pronounce it, of course Hambalaya.

Okay, somebody is really silly this morning.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen