Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

2008-08-14 8:56 p.m.

Thursday Things

It�s been kind of crazy the past few days around here.

First of all, thanks for all the prayers and well wishes for Terry. He said thanks too. He left for his procedure Tuesday morning around 9:30 and they took him in to the operating room at 11:00. I knew he wouldn�t be done and aware of anything until at least the doctor called me.

It was strange. Ever since they called with the news that they found an abnormality in his urine I knew in my heart that he was going to be okay. I convinced myself, at least. The minute the door shut behind him and Lori, my stomach was in my throat.

Then it hit. I just knew they were going to say the cancer had come back and was in his kidney�s.

It made no sense for me to go with him because I would have had to take about 3 tanks of oxygen with me and then worry that I had enough. He didn�t want me to go anyway. We are both like that. If either of us has to be put to sleep for anything, we wait at home. I don�t like being semi-awake with him sitting there. It makes no sense. For one thing, after surgery, an elephant could be in the room but you won�t remember it the next day. Besides, we are only 10 minutes from the hospital.

So after he left, I finished my coffee and decided to lay back down for a minute. Terry goes to bed at 9:00. I go to be anytime after 11:00. Usually closer to 1 or 2. Terry gets up around 6:00 and I usually get up at 9:00 This works out well. I have some alone time at night and he has his in the morning.

So anyway, I laid down about 10:00 and never woke until 12:15. You could say we slept through his surgery together. The Doctor called at 12:24. I love this doctor. No beating around the bush.

�Mrs. Murray?�

�Yes, Hi, Doctor E�

�He�s clean as a whistle. You can pick him up after an hour. I will see him again in three months�

�Thank you, Doctor E. Bless you.�

Yes, he is perfectly fine. Thank you Lord. I am in such a good mood today I can�t stand myself!

Oh, and since August 1st, I have lost 8 pounds. I tell ya, I think there may be some changes on the horizon. I am now taking the Cymbalta and it is my new best friend. I�m not the least bit wonky, nor dizzy, nor high. I am just not sad. The huge black cloud has finally blown over. For the first time in a year, I am no longer sitting here wondering how long I will live but how much living can I do.

Terry said it�s about time I got back to writing the book I started. It�s sort of a spooky horror without the gore. I have other things I plan on doing too. I am doing chair exercises for now, but yesterday I washed a load of dishes (sink, not dishwasher) put away laundry, and cleaned up the living room. To most of you, I�m sure your thinking �big deal, I do that every day and then some.� Yes you do, but this is a huge leap for me. I am serious. Just that stupid 8 pounds I�ve lost so far? I can feel the difference. I don�t know. Maybe it�s just Terry getting through another crisis, my new best friend or my weight finally going in the other direction but whatever it is, I am going to enjoy it while it�s here.

Poolie is always making funny lists like, oh things an octopus might reach for and other cute things like that. I thought of her when I wrote the line �clean as a whistle.� After I wrote it, I thought to myself, self? How clean is a whistle. It can�t be too clean after blowing into it all day. I imagine if they took a whistle from a kid and sent it to CSI they would find all kinds of bacterial growth on and in it. After that, my mind started thinking of other thngs that we say that make absolutely no sense. So ala Poolie, I give you

SILLY SAYINGS THAT DON�T MAKE SENSE.

Feel free to come up with your own.

Clean as a whistle
for reasons stated above.

I slept like a baby.
Anyone that has had a baby can tell you that for the first few months they wake every 4 hours. From then till about 6 months they sleep from about 11 to six. Often waking when they poop their pants. I don�t sleep like a baby. That would be messy.

She/He ate like a pig
I have never seen anyone eat with their face in their plate without utensils. That would be funny to watch, I�m guessing.

She drank like a fish
Oh, really? Well, first of all, she wouldn't drink like a freshwater fish because a freshwater fish does not drink water. It takes it into its body through its cells or osmosis (neener.) If, on the other hand, you are talking about a salt water fish, than yes, she could drink like a fish, though her body would process the water and since she has no gills to expel the salt, ummm I guess that would come out some other way.

Huge silly statement made by some people.
These people will be sitting in broad daylight, with their eyes wide open music in the background and claim they are having a migraine as they eat their lunch.

I�ll let in on a secret. If you are in the throws of a genuine migraine, your eyes will not be wide open. You will be lucky to open them to slits because the light will cause extreme pain. You will not be sitting their eating because you will be to nauseous to even think about food. As for the music, you will want to shove whoever�s boom box is playing up their ass. So please. If you have a headache, simply state you have a headache. Please do not trivialize us that suffer real migraines.

This is a stream of like sayings. That tastes like a) shit, b) ass c) piss.
Either you are lying because you have never actually tasted the previously mentioned items or please remove me from you buddy list, address book, phone book and memory.

Raining cats and dogs.
I think this one is pretty obvious, although after a heavy rain, I have stepped in poodles.

Colder than a witches tit. I know a few self proclaimed witches. I don�t think I have ever heard them complain that they had cold tits.

And my personal favorite: People (my ex boss for instance) when faced with me trying to explain why one thing is like another will use the term, �That�s like comparing apples and oranges.� She is trying to imply that apples and oranges are nothing alike. What I am comparing are two things that are very similar. Apples and oranges are both fruits. They are both good for you. They both contain many vitamins. Both can be made into juice. So in essence what I doing IS comparing apples and oranges but she doesn�t see the similarities there either. Sometimes disability is a good thing. Well, I started you off with 8. Can you come up with more?

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen