Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

2008-12-15 10:17 p.m.

There is light at the end of the tunnel, and I don't think it's a train.

Okay now. I have all the results, all the info, and all the answers.

Lungs. The lungs are getting better. There is still fluid and there is still a bit of sludge. They are slowly improving. Fixing the lungs had a price.

Stomach. The stomach is not digesting food as fast as it should be. It has been decided that his morphine, lack of exercise (not to be confused with housework, as it isn�t the same) has slowed his digestion. It has also been found that the massive amounts of heavy duty antibiotics have not only managed to kill all the bad bacteria in his system, but also wiped out his good bacteria. Ergo, the higher than normal white blood count.

They now have changed the antibiotic to one that doesn�t cause stomach problems and are giving him probotics like yogurt, fiber, tomatoes, leeks, garlic and grains. The probotics in these foods are fructooligosaccharides. (neen-fooken-er!) or FOS for short. These help the gut with digestion, the immune system and lots of other things. They are sure they will get the stomach into shape soon and along with�

Bowels. Yes, I will put this as delicately as possible. With the amount of fluid that has left his body in the past 24 hours, I would dare to say, they have had to pump gallons back in. This is from his doctor�s mouth. He said he wouldn�t even tell me the details because it was too graphic.

And last but not least,

Weight. A friend of ours went to visit and said he looks like he�s lost about 15 pounds. 15 pounds of water weight while they are continuing to pump liquid into him shows how much he has lost.

Bottom Line. He is slowly getting better. Very slowly. When I asked the doctor if it is too soon to discuss coming home he said we won�t ever start discussing it until everything is working like it is supposed to. He is not sure he will even be home for Christmas.

That is the least of my concerns. I will simply put all our presents to each other and the girls and we will have our Christmas when he gets home. I miss him terribly, but his misery in all this far exceeds mine. The poor guy is wanting to get out of bed and at least roll up and down the corridor. Until he gets his problem taken care of he can only get out for the bathroom.

He doesn�t want any company because he doesn�t want anyone seeing him like that. Then today, he dropped his phone and only after his not answering it for over 3 hours (I thought they were doing more tests), I called the nurses station and had them check the phone. Evidently, when he picked it up with the cord and grabbed it, he pushed the ringer off.

I know his daughter is calling him tomorrow from England, so an operational phone is a must-have.

I don�t want to jump the gun but I feel in my heart that this is finally turning around. I feel lighter now. We talked tonight and he knows I am okay by myself and that Next door neighbor is there if I need her and Lori is but a phone call away. So he has resigned himself to the fact that he will be home when he is healthy again and not a moment before.

I�m going to put up my feet now and watch some television. I am not going to check this for errors. I�m just too plum tired. A good nights sleep and face the day again tomorrow.

Once again, thank you all for every prayer, good vibe and well wishes. Terry thanks you too. I have read him every one of them.

*** fructooligosaccharides Yup, look that up in your Funk & Wagnalls

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen