Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

2009-01-08 9:36 a.m.

And your final answer is.......

The doctor finally talked to me. He said my diagnosis was correct. He used the words, "small stroke."

You guys that read me often may or may not remember reading about this new game my family plays. It may sound sick to some of you, but my entire family survives with humor. This is what keeps us sane.

My brother Dale started this game about a year ago. He had awoke one morning to find his speech was a bit slurred and his eyesight wasn't normal. He went to the doctor and after several tests, they discovered that he had had a TIA. Along with that was the discovery of 3 past TIA's that never caused enough symptoms for him to even be aware of.

Well from the minute he found out he had suffered a TIA, every time he messed up like forgetting to put out the trash, he would look at his girlfriend with these big puppydog eyes and say, "I HAD a stroke, you know." It soom became evident that he was using that (jokingly) as his get out of jail free card.

Well, soon after that, I was discovered that I had PPH. Now it's my turn. Dale called here one day and I guess I was supposed to call him back an forgot. When he finally called me and was kiddingly getting at me for forgetting, my first reaction was to say, "I'm on OXYGEN, you know!!

Thus the game began. When poor Terry called this morning, he said something and I jumped on him about it. (joking, of course) and his response was, "I had a stroke, you know!" I was ready for him. "Your stroke doesn't count. Nancy had her pacemaker put in yesterday. That means AFTER your stroke, so SHE has the pot now, not you."

Poor bugger only got to use it once. It is like the family game of Health poker. The one with the latest crisis wins the pot.

Seriousley, he is still having residual effects. The are not all bad, but I think it will take some getting used to. I'll 'splain. Terry is one of those people that wouldn't say poop if he had a mouthfull of it. People tick him off here or there but instead of saying anything to them, he will get all pissy telling me about it. I must have said 1,000 times that it does no good to spout off to me about it. He needs to tell the offending party.

Even with Lori. If he is upset because she didn't do something for us, he will sputter and spit about it to me. My answer is and always will be, "You need to tell her these things. I'm not the messenger. messengers always get shot."

Well, it would appear that those days are over. He had a long discussion with our doctor this morning. He asked how he is and how his family are doing. The doctor asked why he was concerned. Terry told him straight out that he has changed since we first met him. He then went on to tell him that it is frustrating to call his office an hour before they are suppose to close only to get a recording. It was frustrating when he had nobody on call and took a 4 day weekend.

I guess he told him exactly how he has been feeling. That is not like Terry at all. WOW. He said he spoke nicely. He said he wasn't rude or anything, that he just needed to get that off his chest. I guess he did.

His strike was in the frontal lobes. His doctor told me it dictates personality and inhibitions. The fact that he spoke to him this long after tells us that this may be permenant. If that's the only effect, fine. Him speaking his mind isn't a bad thing. Though it could be a little more vocal around here, haha.

They are still trying to get the fluid in his lungs under control he still won't be home anytime soon, but I am relieved that we now have conclusive diagnosis about the stroke.

Again, thank you for all your support.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen