Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Sunday, Jan. 15, 2006 2:18 P.M.

Happy Dance

4 day weekend!

It was a good week all around. We are so caught up, I can�t believe it. Charl is coming back to work on the 1st of February and there will be no stress for her to �catch up� on anything. Smooth sailing. She has been out for 6 months. We have picked up the slack that entire time. I am glad it�s almost over. I can do her job. That�s not the problem, but her job doesn�t include doing mine too. It�s been hectic but it�s almost over.

*******************

I had to take my car in for repair on Thursday. My belts were loose and anytime the weather was damp in the morning, my car would make the most horrific squeal you ever heard. It wasn�t all the time. I could be going along and it would be silent, then step on the gas and it would start. It was more than embarrassing. People would turn and stare at me but that in itself wasn�t the biggest problem.

The problem was that coming and going from work meant slowing down to go around kids waiting for the bus. I know they were on the sidewalk, but when I go past, I slow down and go way around them in fear that as kids will do, one might step backwards into the road.

Well, herein lies the problem. I slow down silently to go around them and as I am passing, I step on the gas. Immediately, that ear-piercing squeal comes on and those poor kids go straight up in the air. The ones that are back-to me never have any warning. I am sure their little hearts beating out of their chests in fright.

Ok, I admit it. The first time, I laughed my ass off. That was before my conscience took over and made me start feeling bad. Ok, ok, about the forth time.

So anyway, I made the appointment for my car guy to fix it on Thursday. I bought the 2 belts. (my mechanic guy has me get my parts myself to save moocho-bucks I dropped the car off and went back after work to pick it up. It came to $60.00. He only charged for one hour labor, but I know it took longer. He is really good to us. No more squeal. But it gets better.

I stopped at the store and bought a gallon of milk. At the last minute, I told the clerk to give me 10 scratch off tickets. Then I came home. I split the tickets with Terry. The first one I scratched off was a $60.00 winner. Then next was a $5.00, the next was a $2.00 and the fourth was a $1.00 winner. The last one didn�t win. None of Terry�s won.

Price of Mechanic: $60.00
Price of milk: $3.00
Price of Tickets: $10.00

Cashed in: $68.00

Cost for the day: $5.00 for repairs, tickets and milk. Not a bad day.

*******************

Friday night, brother Dale showed up from Maine. He stopped at brother Pete�s first and they came up together. We had a few drinks, caught up and by 9:30 I was ready for bed. Pete and Dale took off to play some darts and I headed for bed.

Dale spent the night at Pete�s and came back around 10:00 the next morning. Terry made a delicious brunch and we spent the afternoon visiting. Last night we just vegged out with Species and Species II.
He is as much a movie buff as we are.

I was up at 7:30 and Dale was already through his first cup of coffee. Terry slept in, so I closed the door so we wouldn�t wake him.

Dale�s original plan was to stay till Monday morning, but the weather was taking a turn for the worse. The wind was blowing a gale, and still is. We are possibly getting 1 to 3 inches of snow from here all the way back up to Maine, so he headed out before it got too messy. That was around 8, and so far I haven�t seen any snow here.

He got back to Maine and called. He said the roads from here to Providence were fine, but that through Massachusetts was horrible. He made it home fine though. All is right with the world.

Well, I think I�m going to go and watch Species III. I have to see if the world survives yet another alien invasion. And I still have two more days off after today! Priceless.

|






Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen