Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Friday, May. 17, 2002 6:54 A.M.

The Bingo Zone!!

Under the B, 11. BINGO!!!!

Yup, I am a certified Bingo Junkie! We went last night. Sister #1 won the first game for $75.00. Go Carol! I split a $160.00 with two other people, hence $54.00. I was happy. It cost me $26.00 including my two hotdogs (sans bun). But wait! There's more! B 11 mentioned above was a single winner! Just me! whoohoo!! $100.00!!! Yes indeed folks we have a winner! A total profit of $128.00 for 3 hours work!

I remember when my mom used to go. After she stopped drinking (about 10 years before she died) she got into the bingo habit really bad! She used to go every night. She started keeping a journal of her wins and losses. She did this, mind you because the first few weeks she went, she won some rather large games of a couple hundred dollars. Well, that was all well and good for a short time but after about two months, she threw out the journal. Yes folks, we all know that the law of averages on games of chance are not usually in our favor.

Sister #1 is going to Foxwoods on Sunday. I bowed out. Once every week or two is good enough for me. I figure if I add what I've spent in the three times I've gone so far, it comes to just about $60.00. If I add what I've won those three times, $169.00, Right now I have a net profit of $109.00. Hence, I am good for about 5 more times before I break even. I want to make it last. Because we all know that eventually, I will cease to be spending their money.

We had a good time anyway. I don't know how many of you have ever been, but it's funny seeing what people do or take with them for "luck". Well, we had our brand new bingo bags with us. I picked up enough dabbers yesterday so our little holders were full. This is for you who don't know. A bingo bag looks like a bag about the size of a bleach bottle. Around the outside are pockets that are shaped to fit about 8 daubers. Daubers are ink-filled bottles whith a sponge at the end that leaves a pretty little dot on the numbers as they call them.

Getting back to the story, most people have these bags but they also come armed with all sorts of good luck charms. They run the gamut of little trinkets the size of your thumb, to little suffed beanie babies the size of your hand. One woman last night had about 8 of them across the top of her cards. I thought she was selling them until I got a closer look. I couln't play with that much stuffall around me. The only thing I took for luck was 1) a little picture frame smaller than a deck of cards. Hubby and daughter are on one side and granddaughters are on the other. 2) my little dinosaur (compliments of Sam which was sent to me in the hospital and a little one inched framed picture of my mom. My total good luck stash takes up about a 6 inch space above my cards. Do I think they really bring me luck? Probably not, but I don't look like a "Newbie" at the game. Why don't I want to look like a "newbie" Because when a regular yells bingo, everyone just mumbles under their breath and gets ready for the next game. But when a "newbie" wins, you can hear the chatter all about.

Who in the hell is she?"
Where the hell did SHE come from?
"Another damn stranger"

Nope! Not me! I'm regular! (especially after 7 cups of coffee. I'm very regular)

It's fun to watch other people there. The majority of people are over the age of 60. Looking across the hall of about 300 people, it looks like a Q-Tip convention. If you were looking for your grandmother in there, you'd be in for a hell of a search.

Some of these people can be rude too. Last night, the poor girl calling numbers ran into a glitch with the number machine. It's all computerized now. She puts the little ball up in a slot so it shows on the cameras around the room and when a winner is called, the floor person just calls the number on the card. When she programs it into the machine, it shows a picture of her entire card with the winning line or lines flashing. Since they play 3 or 4 games on one card, they leave the numberboard lit with all the numbers they have called thus far. Well she must have pushed the wrong button because it cleared the number board. The groans and moans could be heard throughout the hall. One woman at our table could be heard uttering.
If she can't run the damn machine, they should get someone up there that can. Ok, ok, I am ashamed of myself. But time was a-wasting! In my defense, when you walk into a bingo hall, an entity takes over your better judgement. Really! You find yourself ignoring people to your left and right unless the game has ended. You find yourself at intermission, running sprints to the ladies room from speeds of up to 90 MPH. And want to know a secret? It's amazing when you have 30 women waiting to potty in a 15 minute time fram, how many don't WASH THEIR HANDS!!! Come on now! How gross is that?

The only other thing I will add to this entry of bingo observations is one other thing I noted. Picture this. It is 9:45 and the last bingo was yelled for the evening. There are 300 people in the hall and at 9:48 it is almost entirely empty! You never see these people leave. Seriousley. They must orb to another parrallel universe or something. I heard the bingo and folded up my paper games. I looked down as I slowly gathered up my things and two minutes later I looked up to find that sister #1 and I were the only ones left besided the cleaners.

Where did they go? In just 3 short minutes, POOF, they were gone.

I have decided that bingo doesn't exist in the real world. It is a land beyond time and space. It is beyond our reality. Up at the next signpost.......

The BINGO ZONE!
(doo-doo-doo-doo. doo-doo-doo-doo.)

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen