Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Wednesday, Jul. 03, 2002 11:05 P.M.

I Am Not a Killer!

In case any or you didn't read the post before this about Hepatitis A,please do first, so this will make sense.

First and foremost, I didn't infect anybody and I can still give blood!!!

I spent hours reading and re-reading every site I could find. Then I hit on the American Red Cross site for the do's and don'ts of donating. You are only a risk if you contracted the virus at age 11 or older. I called my brother to make sure and I was 8, 9 at the oldest. I am so relieved! Wouldn't that be a kick in the ass? I have donated over 3 gallons of blood to help sustain life and sometimes save it, only to find out it was all contaminated.

Well it's not an I feel like the weight of the world has been lifted from my shoulders.

So ok, now that I have the facts, I would like to share them.

1. Anyone can get Hepatitis A. You can get it from touching an infected person, eating infected food or by sharing needles, sex and all that other stuff, but children can get it from another child that is infected.

2. It is a viral infection and there is no medication given. It is very rarely if ever fatal.

3. Once you have it, you develop antibodies and are immune for life.

4. A child under the age of 10 may not have any symptoms.

5. Over 140,000 cases a year are diagnosed.

This one was an eye-opener:
6. 40% of urban adults have had it and don't even remember being sick.

So in a nutshell, I am not infectious, I haven't killed anyone and I can still give blood.

Life is good.

This has been a public service announcement from the Cosmicrayola Network. We now return you to your regularly scheduled diary.

Later....

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen