Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2002 6:53 A.M.

Hump Day and Family Dollar

It's Hump Day!

I'm glad for that. It's all down hill from here. I know I just went back to work, but it's like I never left. Don't get me wrong, I love my job. It's the having to get out of bed in the morning that I hate. I woke up at 5;45 this morning and usually don't get up til 6:30, so today is going to drag.

I went shopping yesterday. I intended to just run into the Family Dollar store and grab ONE THING and head home. Did it work? Nope.

I think when you walk through the door of that place, an invisible spray hits you in the face. You can't feel it. You can't smell it. But I know it's there. It seduces you into wandering up and down the isles until you see something that you absolutly can't live without. Then and only then are you released from it's grip.

Yesterday was no exception. I walked aimlessly up a few isles that I just knew contained things that I couldn't possibly need. Once again, Cosmicrayola was wrong. I walked down the row of housewares and I heard my name being called. I kept walking until I got to the dishes.

"Yoohoo, Cosmic. When was the last time you bought a set of dishes?", came the disembodied voice from nowhere.

" Ummmm, that would be about 15 years ago."

"Look at all these dishes, Cosmic baby. How can you refuse?"

"Well, I can refuse because I own about 7 sets of dishes right now."

"No you Don't!"

"Yes I DO! I own three bowls of one set, 5 plates of another set. 8 sandwich plates of another. I have 4 soupbowls from the corellware line and I have at least 7 various coffee cups."

"But you don't have any that really match now, do you?"

Ummm, that would be a no."

"Look at the price on these, Cosmic! Just 10 bucks for a whole 16 piece set. That's a 4 place setting!"

"So what! When do I ever have 4 people at my table and who says they have to match anyway?"

"Awwwww, Cosmic baby! Think of your reputation! Think of the status! Think about Thanksgiving! You are going to have at least 4 people that day! You need this dinnerware!"

"No I don't"

"Yes, you do!"

"I'm not going to buy it! I am my own person. You cannot force me to buy a setting for 4 just because you want me to!"

I stood there a few more moments feeling triumphant. I will not buy a 4 place setting just because the Family Dollar invisible sales entity wants me to. I'd show them!!!

Instead, I bought 2.

That'll show them who's boss!

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen