Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Friday, Mar. 07, 2008 7:31 P.M.

From no news to much news - zing!

I have no news other than to say Terry is feeling better. Yes that is good news, but this is turning crazy. I give you a rundown.

The stages of Terry's diagnosis.

1. It is pneumonia
2. It is also asthma (WTF?)
3. It is pneumonia and asthma and pleural effusion. (fluid in the lungs.)
4. Ah! It isn't pneumonia, just pleural effusion and asthma, but it might also be something else. We need more tests.
5. There is something on the x-ray we don't like.
6. We will take another x-ray. Need a better picture.
7. Something on the x-ray. Not sure what.
8. Have an ultra-sound. Still not sure.
9. Have Cat Scan. Hmmmm. Not cancer. (Always nice to hear) Still not sure.
10. Have Pneumonic inject-dye-into-vein-scan.
11. Not pulmonary embolism. (always nice to hear also.)
12. Final diagnosis? Pleural effusion/asthma/COPD/emphysema (exacerbated, neener)

I had a prescient (neener of huge proportions.) view of how this would all turn out. Though words of cancer were said after the fact and blood clot in the lungs was discussed, I never had that moment of doom and gloom. I really thought it was all stuff they could treat with meds.

I have to admit, the asthma was a total WTF.

They have decided that what they thought might be something else, was in fact scar tissue or shadow. He is on the mend and sounds better every day. They are sending him home tomorrow, (Saturday.)

Ahh what a difference a few hours make. I started this post around 9:00 this morning. It is now 6:20pm. As we speak (so to speak) he is in his recliner. He just finished his bowl of stew and is reading his comics.

He feels 100% better. He looks better too except the gravel in his voice from coughing. I can live with that. So can he. And drum roll here. He has been 5 days without a cigarette!! (And the crowd roars, and little children and old ladies weep)

I am putting a counter for him on the bottom of my page here. It helps. It really does. I look at mine once in a while now. I use to look at it daily. Now I only do when someone asks.

I almost didn't want to post part of this entry. It seems like every time something comes up with one of us, someone else is suffering a similar problem. Mary's dear sweet mom was suffering a pleural effusion just a few days ago. I sometimes worry you guys are going to think I make this stuff up.

Trust me, I don't.

Anyway, Terry's better and I'm feeling pretty good myself right now. I haven't been reading much. I got kind of gloomy this week and not only that, I kind of stayed to talking on the phone and playing games. I think I'm back now. It will take forever to try to catch up with every entry of yours and yours and the rest of you, so I may scan a bunch. Please forgive me if I miss anything important.

I leave you on a more lighthearted note.

***************************

A man feared his wife wasn't hearing as well as she used to and he thought
she might need a hearing aid. Not quite sure how to approach her, he called
the family Doctor to discuss the problem.

The Doctor told him there is a simple informal test the husband could
perform to give the Doctor a better idea about her hearing loss

"Here's what you do," said the Doctor, "Stand about 40 feet away from her, and in a normal conversational speaking tone see if she hears you.
If not, go to 30 feet, then 20 feet, and so on until you get a response.'

That evening, the wife is in the kitchen cooking dinner, and he was in the den. He says to himself,

"I'm about 40 feet away, let's see what happens."

Then in a normal tone he asks, "Honey, what's for dinner?'"
No response.
So the husband moves closer to the kitchen, about 30 feet from his wife and
repeats,
"Honey, what's for dinner?"
Still no response.

Next he moves into the dining room where he is about 20 feet from his wife
and asks,
"Honey, what's for dinner?"
Again he gets no response.
So, he walks up to the kitchen door, about 10 feet away.

"Honey, what's for dinner?"
Again there is no response.
So he walks right up behind her.

"Honey, what's for dinner?"
(I just love this)

"Ralph, for the FIFTH freakin' time, IT'S CHICKEN!"


Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen