Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

2009-03-16 4:27 p.m.

Silly rants

***Disclaimer: I sit corrected. I was not aware that it was only $29.00 to take another look. I still stand that I have enough faith in it being done the first time to not require a sescond look. I do it myself manually, then I use Turbo Tax. I have doen taxes for years so I keep up on them, but I like the Turbo Tax. And for anyone that doesn't know a lot about taxes, I agree that H&R is a good, reputable place. Again, my issue wasn't about the companies themselves, it was about their ad agencies.


I have been pondering some things lately. Nothing earth shattering but things that make me shake my head.


1. Scrubbing Bubbles toilet cleaner has come out with a new product called Scrubbing Bubbles Gel Pads that when pushed against the inside of the toilet bowl, releases a round cleaning disk. It keeps the toilet spic and span for a week. Then it dissolves and you put another one in. Simple, right? No more dirty nasty toilet ever again. That would be all well and good except two minutes later, they are showing you their product that looks like a wand with a pad at the end that will remove that nasty ring around the toilet bowl.

So if I am to believe them, that these little pads will keep my toilet clean, why would I need the product for the ring or any of the other 14 toilet cleaners this same company makes?

Do they think we are that stupid?

2. Is it me or are the ad companies totally different lately? We used to see ads for kids toys. We used to see tons of ads for cake and cookie mixes, for grocery stores, even everyday things like electronics.

Now it seems like all we see are ads for COPD meds, Asthma meds, depression meds and let�s not forget, erectile dysfunction. I have no problem with those ads, it�s just that it really gets annoying seeing them all the time when I take a bunch of them myself! It is the same as when you buy a bright new red car and it seems like all of a sudden everyone has a bright red car. But now it gets better! Is that depression medication not working for you? Well, now you can take a different one with it that will! Of course, now you will be taking two. Give it five years and we will have a series of 6 or 7 that when combined will surely do the trick! I have a name for them. We can call them the Rocky antidepressant series!

Also, many of the ads keep telling you that their medicine can help you. Talk to your doctor about it. Then they list all the side effects, which sound worse than many illnesses themselves. The worse part about these ads? Many don�t even tell you what the medicine is for!!

Believe me, I am not treating anyone�s illness lightly. This is a rant against the moronic way they advertise.

Do they think we are that stupid?

I understand the idea of ads and that they pay for programming yadda, yadda, yadda. But what aggravates me is why do we have to see ads at dinnertime and at times when kids are watching? There is an ad for erectile dysfunction at 4:00 in the afternoon and at 5:00 they are advertising motion lotion for him and one for her to get the mood right for a quickie while the kids are outside in the middle of the day.

Do they think parents this stuff they sell is romantic? How romantic can you get when you are fighting the clock because your child is due home from school so soon that you can�t even take your clothes off?

Do they think we are that stupid?

And my personal favorite.

You have just spent $250.00 to your trusted accountant to do your taxes. He has claimed everything he can legally claim for you and you are getting $2,500.00 in refund money. But wait! H & R says it can get you more! You should take all your paperwork to them and pay another $250.00 to find out that your accountant never missed a thing! Why would you pay someone all that money if you didn�t trust them to do it right the first time?

Do they think we are that stupid?

Well, you will have to excuse me folks. There is a guy in Nigeria that is going to make me a millionaire just as soon as I send him the $2,500.00 for the paperwork.


Dom Delouise and Johnny Carson Egg Trick

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen