Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Friday, Mar. 25, 2005 3:14 P.M.

The meme continued

From Jenn

#1 What the one reoccurring dream you have that keeps you up nights (good or bad)?

I don�t have them anymore. As a child I did. I can remember one that I must have had 30 times. I can still remember it like it was yesterday. I am sure anyone with any knowledge of dream analysis could come up with a reason for it occurring with such frequency.

In the dream, I am running through the Deering Oaks Park. This is a huge park in Portland Maine. I used to live across the street from it. I have my arms filled with papers/books/files. I am only 8 to 11 years old at the time. In the dream, I am running from someone and though am scared of the person, I smile to myself because I know I have the power. The power I possess is the ability to get running really fast and then bend my knees straight up behind me and I am flying. I never fly up in the air. I stay the same distance from the ground that I am when running, but I speed up twice as fast. Then I am zipping high speed between the trees and by leaning in one direction or the other, I can take corners, like a motorcycle and change direction. I leave my pursuer in the dust.

If I were to try to analyze this using just simple logic, I would say that the papers etc. that I am carrying are the books I had read and the poems I had written. I was running from my life and trying to get away from my home situations. I never went up in the air because I know I had to stay �grounded� or that I could not rise above it, but I knew that if I wanted success in my life, it would depend on me. I would have to be faster than my situation and ready to go when my chance came. (ok, maybe that�s all wet, but it seems logical to me.)

#2 If you had a time machine, what time would you warp to (past or future) and why?

Wow, so many time continuums!! I think the �when� would be around the time of the Civil War. Ok, here is where I am going to have a few of you screaming at me. Save it. It isn�t going to change my mind. Just for while, I would like to be a Scarlet O�Hara. I would love to have a man grab me, throw me down and have his way with me. (Not hurting me of course, just �manly�). I would love to live (temporarily) when a man was a man and women appreciated it. When a man �courted� a woman and she played hard to get. I think that would be fun. Of course then I would come back and Terry would command me to, �Get in the kitchen and make him some dinner!!�, as he slams his fist down on the table. After my laughter stops, I then have to kill him for being so absurd.

#3 What is one of your biggest regrets, if you have one?

As many times as I have said, �If only�, I can�t imagine changing anything except one. I am a product today of all my yesterdays and without them, I would not perhaps have my children, my grandchildren, nor Terry. I wouldn�t know many of the people I do and I would have missed out on many good times. Yes, I could have done without the bad too, but again, those things shaped who I am today and I kind of like myself just the way I am. I am comfortable with me. There is only one real regret that I have. I regret the first time I lit a cigarette. If I had never done that, I can�t imagine how that would have done anything but improve who I am now.

From LA

#1) Talk about your most memorable teacher. (Good or bad, your choice) I remember Mrs. Clark in the 7th grade. Again, my home situation wasn�t great at the time. There was a lot going on that made it damn near impossible to study or do homework on a regular basis and I was made to come straight home from school to take my little sister out, so I couldn�t go to the library. I had no privacy, sharing my bedroom with not one, but two sisters. There were at any given time 7 of us living in a three bedroom apartment.

There was also no money for school lunches, so my normal lunch was to take a cheese and mayonnaise sandwich. We weren�t allowed to help ourselves. Mom controlled all that we ate so she would make the lunches. If I was thirsty, I drank water with it. Mrs. Clark noticed one day that again I didn�t turn in any homework. She took me aside one day after class and asked me why it never got done.

I broke down and told her how it was at home. I felt like a traitor, ratting out my mom, but I was 12 years old. I just folded. The next day, she called me in after home room and told me that from that moment on, I was going to get free lunches and that to pay for them, I was to come to her room after school three times a week and help her out. She sent a notice home to my mother telling her that I needed extra tutoring to keep peace at home. The first day I showed up to �help her out�, I asked her what she wanted me to do. She wanted me to do my homework! God Bless her! She managed to work it out so that not only did I start getting a hot meal every day, but I also had my own place, my very own place to do homework and study. She kept that up all through the 7th, 8th and 9th grades. She was the finest example of a teacher I have ever known. She taught me compassion, and she taught me self respect and how to believe in myself.

#2) Here's 2 plane tickets and a week's hotel and food. Where are you going?

I�m going to New York City!! Yay!! I spent 3 days there about 6 years ago and have been dying to go back ever since. Of course, I have to save up a ton of money to sight-see with.

#3) Have you ever been involved in a natural disaster? (flood, tornado, earthquake, etc)

Thank God, no. We has a little earthquake in Maine back in 1971 but it barely jiggled things. Nope. Good ole New England. Aside for a few severe thunderstorms occasionally and an occasional snowy winter, we are pretty pretty boring weather-wise. I hope it stays that way.

Well, I guess that�s that. Thanks to those of you who asked me questions. It was fun and thought provoking.

As an aside to these questions, I want to say a personal thank you to Radiogurl In asking me about my favorite toy, she reminded me how very much I love the Nancy Drew Mystery books. And if that wasn�t enough, LA pulled a Karma thing when she mentioned it again. I did a little checking on e-bay. I am now the proud owner of (so far) 20 original Nancy Drew books!!! YAY ME!!

Yes, I know that they are geared to 9 � 12 year old. Too bad, so what? I plan on getting every one of them! I could never own them as a child, but hey, if Art can have a Slinky after all these years, Why can�t I restore a bit of my own youth. Besides, I have 3 granddaughters that may very well enjoy them as much as I did. Those got me into my love of books in the first place. I have 3 chances to do the same.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen