Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

2009-04-17 8:44 p.m.

A bunch of stuff.

I went into the hospital on Wednesday. My breathing was horrible. I was really huffin and puffing. Guess what it turned out to be. A cold. Yup. It has been so long since I�ve had one, I forgot what one was like. I�m recovering nicely, thank you very much

r*********************

I bought a new toy and got it today.


My rollator

It is my latest friend. You push it around like a walker, but when you get tired, you sit down. Cool, huh? I should be able to adapt my oxygen tank holder to it and actually go shopping! Yay!!

r*********************

Every now and then, I hear a phrase that just makes me giggle. I giggle because the person saying it will say it wrong and it ends up making no sense or it comes out making the exact opposite point that it should. I giggle because it�s nice to see that I am not the only one that makes these mistakes. I make my share, trust me. I give you a few phrases to make my case.

1. "It�s the least that I could do."
Well gee. If you didn�t want to do anything, why bother? Maybe I am reading that wrong, but if someone tells me it�s the least they can do, doesn�t that mean that they are doing as little as possible? If they wanted to express what I think they are trying to express, maybe they should say,
"I wanted to at least do SOMETHING."


2. I could care less. This one cracks me up. A lot of people say this. Well sweetheart, if you could care less, I guess that means you still care. I believe the phrase should be, �I couldn�t care less.�

3."Any moron/idiot knows that."Well if any moron knows that, I guess if I don�t know that, it means I�m not a moron, right?
4.

ir�re�gard�less This word really annoys me for some reason.
Pronunciation:
ˌir-i-ˈg�rd-ləs
Function:
adverb
Etymology:
probably blend of irrespective and regardless
Date:circa 1912
nonstandard : REGARDLESS
usage Irregardless originated in dialectal American speech in the early 20th century. Its fairly widespread use in speech called it to the attention of usage commentators as early as 1927. The most frequently repeated remark about it is that �there is no such word.� There is such a word, however. It is still used primarily in speech, although it can be found from time to time in edited prose. Its reputation has not risen over the years, and it is still a long way from general acceptance. Use regardless instead.

Find some more. I know you can do it!

And for my final, I thought I would share this with you.

You should never judge a book by its cover!

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen