Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Saturday, May. 20, 2006 9:15 A.M.

Johnathan Livingston, I presume?

WARNING: VERY LONG ENTRY

I think karma or omens or something is trying to get my attention. If anyone is into what signs me, please enlighten me. Good bad or ugly, I can handle it. Here is the scenario. Two separate �signs�, two days in a row.

One of the women in our 50-unit development at work, named Helen, insists on feeding stray birds, cats, squirrels, etc. She tosses bread and cookies out the back hallway door.

She has been told not to do it because it may bring rats and vermin that would not be welcome. We suspected she was still doing it and two days ago we were convinced. I am still laughing at how we came to this discovery.

We all leave work at 3:30 but on this particular day, we were still all in boss lady�s office but ready to leave at say, 3:35. A huge seagull landed on the ground outside of the back entrance door of the complex. He sat and looked at the door for about 10 seconds. He then proceeded to waddle up to the door and peck at it 5 times not 4 or 6, but 5. As soon as he did, he ran backwards to a point of about 20 feet away and stopped. He stared at the door for another 10 or 20 seconds and then ran back over to it, pecked 5 times and backed off again.

He was KNOCKING at the door for his meal! He kept this up for about 10 minutes. Every time, it was peck 5 times, run, wait 20 seconds, repeat. He finally gave up and flew away. This woman was so busted! We laughed ourselves silly.

If you think a gull has no brain, I�m here to tell you that you�re wrong! I think this one even had a watch hidden somewhere. He knew it was feeding time. He just didn�t know, like Helen did, that we were still there.

The second �sign� or coincidence, for you non-believers came the very next day. Yesterday.

I had to go through the drive-through at the pharmacy to pick up meds. After waiting for 10 minutes in line, the first car pulled out and drove away. After finishing with my purchase, I went to pull away and saw a seagull right in my path. It was about 10 feet in front of me, up against the building, but in direct line of where I would have driven. I pulled over to the side of the lot and grabbed my cell-phone. Walking back, I saw that the gull was sitting on the ground, but he had blood all along his beak.

I walked up to him slowly and he just looked up at me. No fear. Just misery.

I stood talking to him for a bit and then called the police. He was already injured, but I knew it was a matter of time before someone would hit him again. The police said they would send someone so I then called into the pharmacy and asked if someone could bring out a shopping cart. I figured I could put that in back of him to act as a barrier. The cars could go around it and I could go home.

The gull just kept staring up into my eyes. I knelt down and was talking to it. I was close enough to have petted it if I had wanted to. Still, no fear.

The manager came out with the cart and came over near me. I think she was afraid the gull was going to attack so she kept her distance. As soon as the gull saw her, he stood up. I wondered if he could walk, so I stood next to him facing the other side of the lot. I asked him if he would go with me and dropped my had down to my side. I don�t know what possessed me to do it, but I started making little round circles next to his head and started taking little baby steps. The bird looked at me like he understood me and started walking with me! I kept making the circles and he walked all the way across the parking lot to the grass with me. The manager just shook her head and said if she hadn�t seen it herself, she wouldn�t have believed it.

After getting to the grass, he looked up at me again, and flew off. He was only about 12 inches above the ground, but he flew around the back of the video store in the next lot and disappeared. I hope he made it. I hope he�s alive. I will never know.

This whole scene took about 20 minutes. I called the police back and told them he was gone. I think that conversation was moot anyway because I don�t think they intended on sending anyone to begin with.

So what, if anything does having a Kodak moment, not once but twice, with a seagull mean? Anyone?


I told you this would be long. I warned you.

I am very upset about something. I cannot do anything about it and that upsets me even more.

Twice this has happened in the past two weeks.

I ride home from work the same way every day. I will be changing the way I come home from now on. It isn�t a big deal. I will just take another street that runs parallel to the one I usually do. The reason?

On this particular street, there is a bunch of kids that play ball every day. The game spills onto the street occasionally. Anyone taking that street every day realizes this. Strangers, of course wouldn�t know.

There is a boy of, perhaps eleven or twelve that plays with them. He has a cell phone. I am not going to argue that point. I bought my granddaughter one for her 13th birthday. I like that mom can reach her with a phone call and that she can reach mom if she needs to. She earns her own money to put time on it.

But this little guy? Twice in the past two weeks, this young boy was so engrossed in conversation, while playing ball , that he stepped backwards into the street right in front of my car! My first reaction was to find out his name, but as soon as you try, the kids scatter like cockroaches when the light comes on. There is no way I could find out his name, let alone he address.

It used to be in the good old days that when an adult addressed a child, the child would stop what they are doing immediately and address the adult. Now, with all the wackos out there, children are taught (and rightfully so) that if a stranger tries talking to them, they are to run. And God forbid, I should be known as the strange lady that is asking kids their names and addresses. See the catch-22 here? I�m damned if I do and damned if I don�t.

Taking another street is the option for not seeing this happen again, but I am afraid for this child. Someday, someone will be going down the street and not paying attention. This boy will step into the street and he will be hit. Of this, I have no doubt.

I think what I will do is place a call to his school. I know, because of where they play, which school he probably goes to. Maybe they can just make an announcement in the classroom about not talking on the cell phone while running around outside. But if you look at people that drive while talking on them, I doubt a little sermon from a teacher will have much effect on a child. Oh well, I can try.

I wish they would put stronger fines in place with regard to using them in cars too.

The problem isn�t being solved just because people have the new hands-free phones either. Dialing the phone isn�t the big issue. People get so wrapped up in conversation they don�t pay attention. Some will argue that talking to someone in the front seat is the same thing. It isn�t. The person in the front seat is aware of the other drivers. They can see. The person on the other end of a phone is oblivious to what is going on at the other end of the phone.

I refuse to talk while I�m driving. I pull over and park if I need to talk to someone. If Lori calls me on her cell, I give her hell and tell her to call me back. I won�t talk to her if she is driving either.

It�s sad to say, but I see no good end to the little boy in the street. Some day he will be talking on his phone, step into the street, and probably be hit by someone talking on their cell. Modern technology? Just another way to destroy ourselves.

Have a great weekend!!

|

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen