Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

2008-06-27 9:48 a.m.

Bit's and Pieces

Subject: Irish Tickler

Paddy met Mick in the street and said
�Paddy, will you draw your bedroom curtains before making love to your wife in future?�

�'Why?� Paddy asked.

�'Because,� said Mick, �all the street was laughing when they saw you making love yesterday.�

Mick said,
�Silly buggers, the laugh's on them. I wasn't home yesterday.�

Pa-dum-dum!


I was up at the crack of damn-it�s-too-early yesterday morning to get ready for my echocardiogram. The test itself takes 10 minutes. Getting up, showered, dressed, take all my pills, drink a cup of coffee and wait for Lori to pick me up took 2 hours. Then it was the 10 minutes for the test, and then the 45 minutes waiting for Lori to come get me and then 15 for the ride home.. So let�s go over this again:

Total time for test: 10 minutes
Total time to ready, set, go and get back? 3 hours 45 minutes.

Hardly seems worth it, huh? I don�t get the results until I see the doctor on the 1st. This was to make sure the pulmonary hypertension hasn�t caused heart problems yet. It will eventually.

It wouldn�t have been so bad had it not been the fact that they took me the minute I walked into the office. I was ready to go home 15 minutes later but had to wait 45. We both thought that I would be at least an hour so I told her to go ahead and go to the gym. Once there, her phone gets shut off because it is a structured class.

It is doing her a lot of good though. She has cut back a bit on her pain meds because she feels so much better after working out. She is determined to keep out of surgery as long as possible.


The wildfires in California have us concerned. I red boxx9000 yesterday and did a google search. My heart went to my throat. Terry�s son (my step-son) Richard lives in Redding. They are right in the middle of all of it. Richard is on vacation this week so he is staying pretty much in the house. He had asthma as a child but has grown out of it for the most part, but they are advising everyone to stay indoor that can.

Starbucks employees working the drive-through are wearing masks. He didn�t seem worried but he did say the air is thick with smoke.

God bless you Californians. If you aren�t being threatened by fires, you are under the gun for earthquakes and mudslides.

When Katrina hit the poor people of New Orleans, many couldn�t understand why they would go back and rebuild instead of staying in Washington, Chicago, New England or wherever else they were finding temporary refuge. Like those people, some can�t understand why Californians don�t just move out of those areas that have yearly fires and those areas that are worried about quakes. I get it though. I really do.

Regardless how dangerous or scary it is where you live, it is still home. It is where you grew up, where your parents grew up, and may even be where your grandparents grew up. I know even after being in Rhode Island for 14 years, Maine is still my home. To some people, Harlem will always be home. To others, perhaps it is even Canada or the UK. That is a hard thing to pick up and move from, I know. Sometimes when I hear people talk about how this used to be here in town or that used to be, I feel like an alien from another planet. It�s as though I�m a visitor from a foreign land. And I only grew up 3 hours from here. I get it.

So to all of you in California with your fires, the Midwest with your floods, North Carolina to the gulf coast with your hurricanes, you will stay in my thoughts and prayers. Rebuild, repair, and remain. Just like the beavers. Tear down one of their dams and see how long it takes before it is right back. Like the spider that takes forever to spin its web. Then someone will come along with a broom and tear it down. Within days, he is right back there rebuilding. We are all the same. It isn�t in us to run. It is in us to stand our ground and claim what�s ours.

Damn, I missed my calling. I should have been a motivational speaker. Oh well, it�s too late now.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen