Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

2008-07-21 5:45 p.m.

A Bunch of Stuff

Hope everyone had a great weekend. Mine was okay. I am looking forward to tomorrow to call my doctor and do a heavy duty rant.

I have been experiencing a weird problem lately. My thighs, upper arms, belly and even my butt are sore to the touch. No, I don�t have a broken finger. I called the doctor On Thursday and talked to the nurse. She is more like a physician�s assistant.

I told her what�s been going on and she talked to the doctor and called me back. The first thing she said was to stop taking my Lipit0r. I have been on it for about 4 years. Just three months ago, my cardiologist doubled my prescription from 10 to 20 mg. She then said they were sending the man from the hospital to draw blood. They called him and he would be out first thing Friday morning. He never showed.

I called my doctor at noon on Friday and told them he hadn�t come yet. I don�t know if they reached him or not, but I haven�t seen him. This has me annoyed to no end. If I bitch about the guy, I�m screwed because he is the only one they have that comes to the house. I have to give my blood sometimes two or three times a month. I really don�t want to piss someone off that is going to be pushing needles into my arm if you know what I mean. (Update: It�s noon on Monday and he finally showed up.)


Terry and I were watching the news earlier tonight and the news broadcast told the story of 10 people in critical condition in Dorchester, MA. Two neighboring towns were playing a soccer match when a thunderstorm cropped up. All of a sudden the sky opened and a downpour soaked the crowd. The all ran to escape under a tree. We are taught all our lives not to run under a tree during a lightning storm, but time and time again people do it. My heart goes out to these people and their families. Bad judgement aside, it is a horrible thing. This comes under the heading � �Ya Learn something new every day.�

What is the first thing you think when you hear the words, �St. Elmo�s Fire?�

As Terry and I were discussing the above story, we ended up talking about electrical storms in general. Terry mentioned St. Elmo�s fire on the ship. �What are you talking about?�, I asked. �St. Elmos�s fire", he answered and proceeded to tell me that late at night when he was working on the barges he would see St. Elmo�s fire on the ship. (WTF?) I must have looked at him strange because he started telling me that he would be out on the bow and it would be lightning like crazy. At the top of the rail of the ship, there were these wires and right along the top of the wires, sparks would dance across back and forth.

�Oh yah?�

Then he told me that he would touch it with his fingertips and hold his index and middle finger out and apart like a �V� and it would travel back and forth between his fingers.

Well, I was all but laughing at him at this point. I know he has told some zingers in his day, but I lost it when he started speaking again. He tried to convince me that out on the range, St. Elmo�s Fire would do the same thing to the cattle�s horns and often start stampedes. By this time, I had all I could do to keep from bursting out laughing. I could feel tears come to my eyes.

I didn�t want to give in and laugh. I wanted him to think I almost believed him for a couple more minutes, when all of a sudden he said those 8 single works that I have heard time and time again. Those words that would end up making him eat crow.

�Look it up if you don�t believe me!�

Here we go! Now I get to look it up, find nothing and laugh my ass off with a big �You really thought I�d fall for that???

Ummmm. Whose laughing now? Not me. True. Every bit of it.

Seriously. Don�t lie. Did you guys know that stuff? The only time I have ever heard of St. Elmos�s Fire was the movie. And I didn�t even like it.

Yes Virginia, there really is a reaction known as St. Elmo�s Fire that causes gas to be trapped between the clouds and the positively charged earth creating plasma that glows blue or purple and can be made to dance between two points. Shit. I�m wrong again.


So How about the new ordinances several towns/cities/parishes are trying implement to put a ban on wearing clothing that shows undergarments? The �Baggy pants� look is bothering a lot of people and causing all sorts of debates. I have read a bunch of opinions and statements on the issue and some of the most idiotic (in my humble opinion) are the following:

If you ban baggy pants you are guilty of racial profiling, as this trend started with black men.
Sorry, I have seen butt crack of many colors. Baggy pants aren't racial. It is sexist maybe, because most people wearing baggy pants, (not all, Nick) are boys.

Those people that wear pants like that are dangerous.
Give me a break. How is a guy going to 1) keep a gun pointed in your face, 2) take off your watch, wallet and rings AND 3) hold his pants up at the same time.

It is disgusting to see someone�s underwear!!

Give it a rest. I would rather see some kids underwear (and it seems that they always wear boxers. I have never seen briefs) that are clean (Never saw a dirty looking pair. Shorts are a fashion statement too)

That is the worst thing to look at on the streets!

Umm, I think ass crack beats that. I think nasty girls with big boobies, greasy hair and low cleavage beats that. I think drug deals beat that.

Lets clean the streets of the drug dealers, the nasty prostitutes (I have no problem with prostitution in and of itself, just the nasty ones on the sidewalks.) and the guns.

If you keep yourself busy with that you won�t have time to see the kid with the baggy pants. I mean really. How silly.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen