Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Saturday, Aug. 19, 2006 10:17 P.M.

Simple Saturday

Not much going on here this weekend. Brittni came home from her week at camp.

She is my soon -to-be 14 year old granddaughter. She went with her church group to upstate New York. Funny how we call Bangor, Maine, northern Maine, but everything north in New York is referred to as Upstate Anyway, she was there all week and had herself a ball. It was the longest she has ever been away from home.

She had called a few times, but for the most part she was too busy. They told her at the end of the week that they want her to take the course to be a camp counselor. That means that next year she will stay for 8 weeks but she will get paid for it. She is already looking forward to it. She loved the island, the people and the camp.

I asked her today if she missed her mom and she said

�A little�. Then I asked her if she missed me and she said ,

�Ya, a little.� I said,

�You�re just saying that to make me feel good.� Then she said the most diplomatic response I have ever heard.

�No, I�m not. It�s just that I would have missed everyone more, but I was so busy, I didn�t have time.�

Quick thinking on your feet, Brit.

Terry and I were watching TV this afternoon, (ya, what a surprise) and there wasn�t much on, so we were surfing and happened upon a show called, When Good Pets Go Bad It showed various animals that flipped out on their owners. One segment showed circus elephants. I couldn�t get over the footage they showed.

The animal behaviorists said that the only way you can train an elephant is by breaking them and that they only follow orders out of fear.

I won�t describe the ways it showed them accomplishing this. Just know that it was more than inhumane.

It also showed a man that had a show down south where he had alligators. After pulling the alligator out of the pool, he would poke and prod the beast and then hold his jaws open and stick his head in his mouth.

Well surprise, surprise. It clamped his jaws down on the guys head. It wasn�t even an intentional thing. The guy had done it many times, but this time a droplet of sweat dripped onto the alligator�s tongue and it bit as a reflex.

I think that I would have done it intentionally if someone had treated me like that and then been stupid enough to stick his head in my mouth. Keep your mind out of the gutter and your giggles to yourself.

All this made me realize the absolute inhumanity of zoos. Even if the animals are well fed and cared for, they are still taken out of their natural habitat and put in a cage.

I�m not going to jump on a pet@ bandwagon, but I don�t think I will be going to any more zoos.

I got this from acaldwell. Thanks Art.

Your Career Personality: Original, Devoted, and Service Oriented

Your Ideal Careers:

Art director
Book editor
College professor
Composer
Film director
Graphic designer
Novelist
Stage actor
Psychiatrist
Writer

Very interesting.

You Are 92% Lady
No doubt about it, you are a lady with impeccable etiquette You know how to put others at ease, even if their manners aren't the greatest.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen