Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

2008-10-09 12:00 a.m.

good news, better news.

I�m still working on my weight. 17 pounds and counting. I have been taken off my acetazolamide (yay!) I have to call in 5 days to let them know if I have had any return of the swelling. If not, I get to stop 1 of the two Lasix per day and 4 of the 8 potassium. That means a total of 6 less pills per day. (yay!)

Lori is still really sore on her hip. She still feels horrible about my car. I just keep telling her that she has nothing to be sorry for. So for now, I�m waiting for the insurance adjuster to get in touch with me and find out how much they are going to give me for my car. I really hope they total it. I will never feel safe in it. Once the front end has been hit that hard, I would be nervous. Not only that, but I can forget ever being able to sell it.

I got some good news today. My Cobra ends in June and I don�t start receiving Medicare benefits until October. I have been scared to death trying to figure out what I am going to do. I just know my luck. At least once during those three months I would end up in the hospital for a week and be paying it off for the rest of my life. With my medical conditions, I wasn�t sure if I could even gut insurance and if I could, I didn�t know how outrageous the cost would be.

Well, the good news is this. Make sure you read this and tuck it away in your memory for God forbid, future reference. You may already know this, but I didn�t. Believe it or not, I found out from my insurance company! If you have good health benefits and there are over 20 employees in a group plan, and you leave your job voluntary or involuntary for any reason other than gross misconduct you can still keep your insurance. That is the Cobra Law. That part, I knew. This part I didn�t know. I have the big guy we will just call the Blues Brothers. You know Cross and Shield?

I found out that even though between Terry and I we have cost them somewhere in the vicinity of half a million in benefits and even though I have a disease that is going to be with me for the rest of my life, that even after my Cobra runs out in June of next year, they can�t drop me as a customer and the have to insure me for the same premium as anyone else. I will cost me almost $80.00 more than the $579.00 I�m paying now, but it is well worth it. And then in three months, I can switch over to the less expensive supplemental when I get my Medicare. That should only be about the same as Terry�s at $150.00 a month plus the $96.00 for the Medicare and the $34.00 for the prescription plan. Total cost? $290.00 plus co-pays on my prescription.

And then I found out that the one med I take that is $1,449.00 a month? I may get it free from Pfizer. Yes Virginia, there is a Santa Clause. Four of my Meds are with them and I may not have to pay for any of them.

Great deal.

I wrote about this other deal a long time ago, but it bears repeating. Those of you who are uninsured or low income please go to the pharmacy and find out who makes all of your meds. After you do, call them. They have programs that can provide you with free meds. Make the call. I know a few of you that would fall into that category. They will send the meds to your doctor every three months and most decent doctors will not charge you each time you pick them up.

If this isn�t clear enough or you have any questions email me and I will help any way I can.

As for the cobra laws, their site is here Well, time to hit the sack. Its midnight and I have some serious sleeping to do.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen