Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005 6:15 P.M.

Goodbye Richard

Part one:

This part was written last night. I was so tired, I couldn't even finish it and was in bed by 9:00.

I am so pooped! I really shouldn't be. I slept till Terry woke me this morning at 8:30. I took my time getting my stuff ready for the Stroll and go there around 11:00. It was nice. The luncheon was sandwiches, chips and deserts. I didn't eat much, but the little cherry cheesecakes were nice.

As far as the button sales went, it was kind of a flop. I only sold 8 of them. I think next year, I will have to have more of a variety. I also think I will have to set up earlier and do some posters. I was kind of incognito sitting there. I will have to make some changes.

It was a nice time though. I met a bunch of really nice peeps and it was a gorgeous day outside, so no hard feelings.

Yesterday was a whole other matter. The luncheon for the tenants went beautifully. The food was great and one of the tenant's son entertained us with his feel good songs. The problem came later.

I have to back up a bit. When I got up in the morning there was snow on the ground and it was coming down at a pretty good clip. Rule of thumb where I work is that if school is out, so are we. But the schools were open. There was only a few, maybe three inches on the ground so off I went. It turned to a windy forceful rain by 11:30. It was time to lock up the office and head over to Park View Community hall about a mile away. The rain was coming down in buckets and by the time I arrived, the parking lot was a 3 inch thick area of slush.

We ate and visited around the tables and at one point I looked up and saw it had changed back to snow again. I looked at my watch and it was almost 2. We all said our goodbyes and I went to my car. By this time, it was really windy and snowing sideways. I pulled away from the curb and started the slow scary trip home. Luckily, I only live about 2 miles if I go the path of least inclines. It was slippery as all get out! At one point, I went to take a corner and my whole back end slid sideways. I pulled over and for a brief moment I though about calling my daughter. She has a Blazer with big-assed tires that I would have felt much safer in. Then I rethought it. I'm a big girl. I can do this. I lit a cigarette, took a drag and regrouped.

The rest of the ride home, (I had made it about half way) was treacherous. Visibilty was almost nonexistant. I had to drive with my window half down to keep pushing snow off the side mirror. I feel clostrophobic if I can't see behind me. My car was totally covered with snow at this point except the windshild. That stayed pretty good with my wipers turned to high.

By the time I got to my driveway, I had to guess if I was even on it, or driving on the lawn and believe me, I didn't much care which I was on at that point. I got into the house, much to the delight of hubby. I purposely didn't call him when I left the Hall because he would have been a nervous wreck til I got home and I knew it was going to be much longer than usual. It normally takes me 12 minutes to make the drive home. It took me 35.

Part Two, This morning:

I didn't know what was going on at the time, but I will include a paragraph from Jim's Journal (Thanks Jim) with the explanation:

It was an absolute blizzard with near white-out conditions. According to the weather folks, what we had was an example of bombogenesis as well as thundersnow ..Bombogenesis is defines as an extreme form of cyclogenesis, a mid-latitude cyclonic flow that causes a significant drop in barometric pressure in a short period of time. Thundersnow is a thunderstorm producing snow (and we did have thunder and lightning with this storm) along with large hail or severe winds. I don't think there was any hail, but a lot of snow came down very quickly (more than an inch in less than an hour in my area and much more in some other areas) along with fierce winds. The weather bureau cited sustained winds of fifty miles an hour and gusts over seventy miles an hour. A gust of eighty-one miles an hour was recorded in Westerly."

So there you have it. I had good reason to be sliding all over the road. I only know that I never want to repeat that half hour ever again. It seem much longer that that.

The weather yesterday was gorgeous! I was sitting inside right next to the door of the church with my button making table and I wasn't even cold. It must have gotten up to 50 yesterday.

Silly Mother Nature. She is such a prankster.

Today is going to include laundry and bed stripping, but not much more. I am awarding myself a lazy day. I earned it. I am taking it.

Final note. Richard Pryor has died. Say what you will about him, but he was one funny guy. I imagine he and John Belushi are swapping jokes as I write this.


Richard Pryor
1940 - 2005


|




Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen