Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Saturday, May. 17, 2003 9:21 A.M.

Happy Saturday.

Good morning. I figured I better update before people think I've gone a'missin.

What a week. It seemed to have lasted 8 days, I kid you not. It was really busy on Thursday and Friday. I slept till 9:00 this morning. I was wiped!

The weather has been crazy this week too. It feels like we had a couple of days of spring/summer and we're back into fall already. I know, I know. By July I will be bitchen about the heat. Human nature. But it is only 51 out there today. That is not normal for RI on May 17th folks. It should be around the mid 60's at least. I hope it warms up soon. Like I have said before, I could live with 72 year round. Right now I am damn cold! I hate turning on the heat this late in the year. It seems like a waste.

We haven't heard from Harry for awhile. Last we knew he was spending two weeks outside of Mosul. I wish he were not there or else I wish I didn't know. I think about him often and just hope he is well. I sent my phone number so he doesn't waste a call if his wife and mom aren't home if he gets to use the phone. I just wish we would hear something.


I just finished watching the Season finale episode of ER. It really got to me. One line in particular. The finale took place in Africa. Two of the main characters, Luka and Carter were there volunteering their help to the civilians. War was all around and the soldiers were killing anyone in their path. At one point, Luka was talking about the evils of war and how many countries are not willing to help. Carter pointed out how our soldiers were in Iraq when needed. Luka made a point that made me stop and think. He said something to the effect that our soldiers flew into Iraq, dropped bombs and flew back to their carriers and went home. He pointed out that while they were fighting, that their children were not starving and their wives were not being raped. That made me again realize how very lucky we are in this country.

I have never heard a bomb blast. I have never had to grab my clothes and run from killers. My children have never gone to bed hungry. I go to bed at night and my biggest worry is that the light bill is due next week. I don't have to worry about being bombed in the middle of the night. I don't have to live in fear that soldiers are going to come and take my husband in the middle of the night. We are truly blessed.

Thank God for our soldiers that are in Iraq right now. And Thank God for our soldiers in other parts of the world that see gunfire on a daily basis. And I thank God I was not born in a country where the life expectancy of an infant is more than two years That we have medicines available to cure common ails that can and do kill people of the world every day. Diseases such as Whopping cough that we wiped out decades ago continue to kill children in poorer opressed regions of the world. It humbles me. It shames me to think that I can be upset because I don't have a jar of mayo in the house when someplace else in the world a child has lost their life because there were no antibiotics to fight pneumonia. And the poor mother that has to witness the death of that child.

I have no answers, of course. I don't have the resources to help them. I can only be greatful that I was born into the situation and country that I was and thank God every day for that. I don't know how these pople survive.

Yes, it humbles me.

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen