Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Thursday, Nov. 20, 2003 7:25 A.M.

Deafening Silence = Oxymoron

Wow is it quite at my house!

Sharon and Becky left yesterday. Their flight was supposed to leave at 3:46 for Chicago. They were supposed to connect and leave Chicago at 6:10 for Manchester, England. Yes, they were Supposed to, But Nooooo!. Instead, they flew into Boston where they waited until 5:35 to fly out.

It seems as though Chicago, the windy city, was living up to its name yesterday. It was so windy that any they even closed down for a time so any flights scheduled to arrive after that point were delayed because of the back-up.

They arrived in Chicago at 6:38, Chicago time. Yes, the 6:10 to Manchester left on time. Yes, they missed the flight. One would normally not be too upset at this and just take a later flight, right? Wrong! I guess there aren't a lot of people flying to Manchester on American Airlines because they have been delayed until 6:10 tonight! There, it seems is only 1 flight a day. So they end up with a 24 hour layover. American was really nice though. They put them up in a Sheraton and only charged them $41.00 freakin dollars!!!

I am pissed! I called the airline when I realized (thanks to my trusted computer) they would miss their flight. I was told by the airline that they would probably put them on the next flight to London and then just transfer them by British Airway to Manchester on arrival. They could have flown out either at 8 or 11. But no. I guess that whoever was in control of the situation figured that it was perfectly ok for a passenger to hang out AT THEIR OWN EXPENSE with a 10-year-old child for an entire 24 hours. And I still can't believe they were charged for the room.

If it were me, my letter to the CEO of American Airlines would already be addressed and in the airport mailbox!

It was really hard saying goodbye yesterday. We said short goodbyes at the house and then they came by my office on the way to the airport. Many hugs and tears were to be had. I hate goodbyes. I watched as they drove off , tears streaming down both their faces. It broke my heart. I thought I was holding up pretty well.

When I got home from work, I walked in and Terry was sitting on the couch. There was no Sharon asking how my day was and no Rebecca running over to give me my hug. There were no coloring books left on my TV tray, no toys in the corner and no noise. It was deafening. Later, I went upstairs to their room and it no longer looked like a spare bedroom. It once again looked like a sewing room. Were they ever really even here? Damn, I miss them.

On a bright note, I talked to Harry last night! He is at home with his wife, Gloria and two-year-old girl, Gabby. He said since he has been home she hasn�t given him 3 seconds rest. All day long she is climbing on him. The minute he tries to get away from her for a minute, all he hears is �Daddy, Daddy!� He�s loving every minute of it. He is scheduled to go back in two weeks until January. At that point, he will go to Kuwait for a month before being shipped home to Fort Campbell, KY. After a 30 day leave, he is uncertain at this point, where he will go. I told him that I hope they just forget about him and he stays in KY for awhile.


Our IC#3 is up. The challenge was to write a Harlequin romance. Boy, if this isn�t the best imitation of one, I just don�t think I�ve ever seen one. The other tribe did well too. This is going to be a tough one. I am not linking to theirs because I am just a tad biased. If you want to read theirs, you�ll have to go to the site posted at the top and find it yourself. I am not giving you a road map.

You all have a great day.

Later�

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen