Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Saturday, Mar. 24, 2007 11:32 A.M.

Movie madness


Hardy-Har Updated today

I�m now scheduled for surgery. I went to the surgeon on Wednesday and he said he wants to get me in as soon as possible, as putting it off will only make it worse. I got a pre-op appoint with my MD for April 4th. I called the surgeon back and told him and he scheduled my surgery for April 11th. Wow, that was quick! That is only two weeks from Wednesday!

If anyone cares to read what they are going to be doing to me, you can click here. I will be out of work a minimum of two weeks. Thank God for TDI. (temporary disability insurance) I complain when we have to pay into it, but it�s nice to know it�s there when you need it. In Rhode Island, it pays 80% of your gross each week.

So let�s see. What�s new? Nothing really. It�s been kind of boring around here. I�m not complaining. I am perhaps one of the few peoples that enjoys boring. We have been watching a few movies lately that bare mentioning. I give you a brief list of just a few. Most are not new, but we swap back and forth.

1. Blood Diamond
Yes, this is new. This movie really bothered me. Not in the sense that I wish I hadn�t watched it. Quite the contrary. It was excellent. It bothered me with respect that it made me, once again, realize the plight and horrors of other nations.

It is so easy to stick your head in the sand when it has nothing to do with you. I know. I do it often. But my heart broke for those people. I can�t fathom how they live like this day after day.

I am a Leo DiCaprio fan. (shut up). I loved him in Titanic, but boy has he grown up! This was a sure-fire way to show what this young man is capable of. He isn�t all looks and fluff after all. This is by far his best acting job.

If you haven�t seen it, please do. It sort of reminded me of a modern day roots. I really enjoyed it.

2. Drop Dead Fred
Okay, this one is old. It is a fluff movie, but I bought it when I saw it on Eb@ay for a price I couldn�t refuse. The acting by Phoebe Cates is okay, but nothing spectacular. The part of Fred is played by Rik Mayall, a British comedienne. This guy is totally nuts! I loved the movie. Lori and I watched it together years ago. I think she was about 18 or 19. We fell in love with it. She was tickled pink when she found out I bought a copy.

Oh heck, I�m just going to do the meme I stole Borrowed from Bozoette

1. Name a movie that you have seen more that 10 times.

There are probably a few, but the one that comes to mind first is Beetlejuice. I don�t know why, but I never get tired of that movie. (Yes, I own it.)

2. Name a movie you have seen multiple times in a theater.

Ummm. That would be none. I was never in a position to toss money away on something so trivial. I can go to the theater now, but once is enough. I�ll buy the video, thank you very much.

3. Name an actor that would make you more inclined to see a movie.

Many, many, many. But if I can only say one, it would be Sean Connery.

4. Name an actor that would make you less inclined to see a movie. Hands down, John Travolta. The only time I will watch him is if there are other actors that make it really worthwhile or if the movie itself has a wonderful review. I plan on seeing Wild Hogs because a friend saw it and says it is hilarious and besides, she says the movie makes William Gacy look sexy. This I have got to see. I love him, but sexy isn�t an adjective I would use to describe him.

5. Name a movie you can and do quote from.

On Golden Pond. �Wanna suck face?� And Die Hard and Die Hard with a vengeance. The same quote from both movies, but I won�t say it here. Try and guess.

6. Name a movie that you know all the words of all the songs.

Does Dirty Dancing count? Love those oldies!

7. Name a movie you have been known to sing along to.

See number 6.

8. Name a movie you recommend everyone see. Pay it Forward. Good lessons to be learned.

9. Name a movie that you own.

Which of the 593 do I name?

10. Name an actor that launched his/her acting career in another medium but has entertained you with his/her acting chops.

I am not into rap in any way shape or form, but as an actor, I like Iced T.

11. Have you ever seen a movie at a drive-In? If so what?

Too many to list. Probably the most impressive was, The Exorcist. Scared the hell right out of me on that big screen. Not to mention all the screams from the surrounding cars.

12. Ever made out in a movie?

Ha! No. I don�t believe I am saying that, but no.

13. Name a movie that you have been meaning to see, but haven�t gotten around to yet.

I honestly can�t think of one. I am usually one to run right out and rent it if I want to see it.

14. Have you ever walked out of a movie?

Yes, years ago. My first husband and I finally had a night out 9 months after my son was born. We went to the State Theater. I don�t remember the name of the movie, but we thought the title sounded interesting. Nobody had told us that the family theater had gone adult. Not that I�m a prude, but it was downright embarrassing for both of us. We only stayed about 20 minutes. It made for a very short night out.

15. Name a movie that made you cry in the theater.

ET. Shut up

16. Popcorn?

Yes, with extra butter and salt. Nowhere can you get popcorn to taste like the movie theater popcorn except the movie theater.

17. How often do you go to the movie theater as opposed to renting them or watching them at home?

Maybe once every 6 months or so. Not often.

18. What�s the last movie you saw in a theater? Passion of the Christ. 3 hours I will never get back. Totally disappointed.

19. What is your favorite/preferred genre of movie?

It�s a tossup between good drama and comedy. Or fantasy. I can�t make up my mind!!

20. What was the first move you remember seeing in the theater.

I�ll never forget. Lady and the Tramp. $.10. I collected bottles and I think I went by myself. I was 8.

21. What movie do you wish you had never seen? See #18

22. What is the weirdest movie you enjoyed.It has to be Eating Raul. Strange, but really funny in a bad B-movie cult kind of way.

23. What is the scariest movie you�ve seen?

The Exorcist. Almost had a heart attack, I swear. Nightmares for weeks.

24. What is the funniest movie you�ve ever seen. Wow, that�s hard to say. If I can only choose one, it would be, Weekend at Bernies, (1 only. 2 sucked). There are a ton more, though.

Have a great weekend!!
PS, I am updating Hardy Har within the hour.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen