Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Saturday, Mar. 27, 2004 3:33 P.M.

The Passion and My Beliefs

First, before you read this entry, I have two warnings. One: I am about to discuss the movie �The Passion of the Christ� Don�t read it if you don�t want to know. Second: I am about to discuss my religious beliefs. If you don�t agree, that is fine. If you don�t agree and want to leave your comments, again, that is fine. If you don�t agree and want to argue, flame me or otherwise say anything other than polite debate, don�t bother. I am writing my opinion in a civilized way and would hope that you would comment the same way.

Thank you

My personal religious beliefs are under construction. I am not trying to be flip, it�s just the way it is.

I am not a joiner. In this I mean that I am not one to stand in a room full of people and believe something just because everyone else does.

I believe in a supreme being, or beings. I have no definite belief as to whether it is one, or more than one. I do not, in my humble opinion, think that man is the best that it gets when it comes to intellect, power or anything else. We use 10% of our brain. There has to be entities that use 100%. That I totally believe.

I believe that Jesus Christ lived. I believe that at the very least, he was a very reverent and very holy man. I totally believe that.

Do I believe as in Christians, that he was the Messiah? I don�t know. I truly don�t. I believe there were many other holy men and women through the years that gave their lives for their beliefs. I take nothing away from the man as far as his life, his deeds and his teachings.

I just don�t know if I am a Christian, or a Jew. Or maybe I am a Buddist. I believe in many of their teachings.

My son is Wiccan. We share many of the same philosophies. Their first and foremost commandment, if you will, is �Do no harm.� He believes in many Gods and Goddesses. He doesn�t believe in the Devil, nor Hell. He believes in balance. Many good thoughts there.

In fact, for all the publicity the Pegans and Wiccans get these days, I laugh. I have heard so many people refer to them as Devil worshippers and it being a �new religion�, when in fact, it has been around since way before Christianity.

I admire people with an absolute belief. I wish I had one. I can�t make myself feel something. In the past 10 years or so, I have been really torn up about what is the truth.

Before anyone makes the obvious suggestion, I will tell you already that I have prayed. And prayed, and prayed. Faith is not something you can �get�. You have to feel it. I don�t at this point in my life.

So onward to the movie. Being as how I feel the way I do religiously, I was upset by the movie. I was upset because I thought maybe I would come away with a little of my lost faith. It didn�t happen.

In my humble opinion, is was way too graphic. Don�t go telling me that is was supposed to be realistic. No way. First of all, he would have passed out more than once during those beatings. Next, he would have died before he even picked up the cross from blood loss. And the grand finale is that after the beatings and the blood loss, he still manages to walk, albeit dragging himself, up to the mound.

See, you can�t have it both ways. Some people would argue that it had to be that graphic to show what he really went through. I say, if he really went through all of that, he couldn�t have. There you have it. Just my opinion. I just hope that nobody even thinks of taking someone to see it under the age of 18. This was worse than any horror movie I have ever seen. Sorry Mel, way overdone.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen