Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Wednesday, May. 16, 2007 3:52 P.M.

Antie Em! Antie Em!!

There is a tornado watch in effect for Rhode Island today. Lovely. Just lovely. I canceled Terry�s camera scope until next Wednesday. I am not so worried about a tornado as I am about the severe thunderstorms we may get. Yup. Chicken Little lives here.

It is sunny and gorgeous right now. Doors and windows are open, though I don�t know for how long.

I see my doctor tomorrow and find out if I can go back to work. I am iffy about it. Part of me wants to get back to work and part of me could do early retirement soooo easy. It�s an enigma, I tell ya. An enigma. Ha! I said enigma and you didn�t. I said it twice. So neener, neener.

We have bees. We have hornets. We have lots of those two things. They don�t bother me. Well, that�s not entirely true. They bother me when they get in the house. And no, Kathy, They are not coming out of my fingers and toes. They are real. Swear. They get in and just hover above where I can reach them. I have a pretty good plan, though. I hit them with hair spray. It makes them sticky and heavy. They lose altitude and I smack them with the swatter. Yes, I murder them. I kill them dead. I am a horrible person.

Better them than me.

I have a little word game for you. I didn�t figure it out, but you guys are smart. I bet some of you will.

See if you can figure out what these words have in common.

Banana
Dresser
Grammar
Potato
Revive
Uneven
Assess

Are you peeking or have you already given up?
Give It Another Try.

You'll kick yourself when you discover the answer.
Go back and look at them again; think hard.

OK.. Here you go. Hope you didn't cheat.
This Is Clever

*

*

*

*

*

*

* Answer:

In all of the words listed, if you take the first letter, place it at the end of the word, and then spell the word backwards, it will be the same word.

Did you figure it out?

Wasn�t that fun? No? Okay. Nevermind. Let�s see, what else did I want to say. Hmmm. Oh ya, the TV broke. Not that it isn�t working, but the remote has stopped �moting�. I changed batteries and it didn�t help. It works fine on our Audio receiver, the DVD player and the Cable box. Hmmm. It must be the TV. We have had this TV for a total of 3 months. Of course, I got on the phone. I love the TV! It has to be fixed.

I called Panasonic. They are sending a technician all the way from Fall River, MA to us all the way down here in Westerly. I am duly impressed. Maybe I should hold off on saying that until he actually comes and fixes it. I know it�s the sensor in the TV. I say this because besides the fact that it works on the other componants, if I rub the front of the sensor on the TV, the remote will work for a few seconds. Then it stops again. If I rub it agian, it starts working, only to stop moments later. (Get your minds out of the gutter.)We have cleaned it, but that hasn�t helped either.

Hopefully, the tech will call me today and come tomorrow. It is a PIA to have to walk all the way across the room to adjust the volume. Man, have we gotten lazy, huh? Remember when: (These are from memory, not an email for a change.)

Having to cook on the stove all day before the microwave?

Having to be near an electrical outlet to hear music? (Some of us couldn�t afford those expensive transistor radios and they were made in China anyway. What did they know about technology?

Remember when we had to iron every bit of clothes we owned?

Having to hang clothes on the line? (Dryers, too, were out of affordable range for most.)

Had to sit in a tub to bathe?

Go out of doors to go potty? (yes, for the first 5 years of my life. Well, not the first year. I did it in my diaper, hehe.)

Having to go to a restaurant to order take out.

Having to actually go Inside the restaurant?

Having a choice of only one place to buy pizza?

Buying a soda, candy bar, and a bag of chips and getting change back from your dollar?

Having to write a letter with a pen on real paper? And then waiting for the mailman to deliver it?

Having to have a ton of change when away from home to use the payphone?

Having to wait and then pay to develop pictures only to find out that none of them came out? Oh well, it was just a first birthday, or first steps, or wedding. We can take them again, right? Ummm, no.

But I think my favorite of all things to get nostalgic about was when a full busy day meant eating, drinking, playing and naptime. Oh, those were the days. At least those will be coming back. Not looking forward to the diaper, though.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen