Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004 10:03 P.M.

Marlboro Man, Kiss my grits!

Good morning.

It�s been a few days since I posted. It has been berry berry busy at the old Casa Cosmic.

The work week was in full speed mode. Our work year goes from October to September, so this month is all about year end reposts and such. I do a lot of them. I keep track of all the monies spent on utilities at our 123 units and those all have to be finished for the Auditor. I also keep track of all work orders, postage, supply orders for cleaning supplies and a multitude of other duties during the year.

Add that to the fact that I do most all of the data entry, answering phones and questions and trust me, September is a very hectic month.

On the upside, it was my brother , Dale�s and grandbaby Brittni�s birthday yesterday. It doesn�t seem possible she is 12!

Daughter Lori moved into her new apartment last week, and so Son, Jeff came to stay with us until yesterday. His girlfriend picked him up and took him and all his belongings back to Maine.

Sister Stella came over on her way to the laundry and I told her she may as well do it here, so she was here until 11 last night. Yup, very busy week. Oh, and we had our summer dinner on Friday night at a local restaurant and I had the stuffed lobster. Yummy.

So now I sit here on a Sunday morning and catch my breath. I don�t plan on doing diddly today and you can�t make me!

I have decided to try something new. I am tempted not to say anything because I don�t want to jinx it, but hell, I can do that on my own anyway. Ok, I guess I�ll share. I bought a new brand of cigarettes. Before you go all postal on me about quitting, read the rest of the entry.

Another diarist mentioned them in her diary and I emailed her to ask the name of them. I would be happy to give her a shout-out except for one thing. I can�t remember who told me! You see, when I emailed her, I used her diaryland email link. When she answered, she answered using her own name. Now I can�t remember. I thought I knew, but even after searching back into 4 or 5 past posts of some of you, I can�t remember. Hey, I�m over half a century old. Cut me some slack. Please let me know who you are so I can properly thank you.

Anyway, back to the cigs.

The name of them is Quest. If you�ve been reading me for any length of time, then you will appreciate the irony in the name.

These are NOT a smoking cessation cig. They are just for people that want to limit the nicotine in their system. That�s what their site says. But if you check them out anywhere else, that is what the idea is. I checked their site and it has a drop-down of where you can buy them. Not in this state. The nearest store that sells them is in NJ. But after much searching, I found where I can buy them online.

They come in three stages. One is half the nicotine of my regular cigs, the next step is half of that amount and the third is NO NICOTINE! They are about a third less cost per carton than my regular ones too!

I ordered one carton of each. I am not sharing with hubby because he is not ready to quit and this is my intent. I know that there is much worse stuff in them than nicotine so they are not a healthier cigarette, but the nicotine is what hooks ya and keeps ya, so I am hoping to do this. If I stick with it, I will be on the lights one week and on the nicotine-free for one week.

Wish me luck. I know that some of you are sitting there saying, �Just quit!� Not that easy. Trust me. I wouldn�t dare try this except �She-who-told-me-about-them� says they taste like a regular cigarette so I won�t be missing any of the taste. If this works, I will probably gain a few pounds but hell, I can lose the weight after. That part doesn�t concern me. My health does. I will let you know how it goes. I want to track it on here to keep me diligent and so I will start doing that when they arrive.

I will probably be the one unfortunate soul that gets caught buying online from out of state and the cigarette police will come a-knocking at my door, but I will take the risk.

UPDATE: It was yarnsmith!!!! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!! (I kept thinking it was a "P" name. Now I know why!)

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen