Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Saturday, Dec. 04, 2004 7:59 A.M.

I'm ok now.

Hello again. Sorry about the whinning in the Last entry. I just had to vent. For those of you who asked questions, I'll explain.

We have lived here for 8 years, next month. Since we have moved in, the landlord has only increased our rent once by $25.00. This means that with the increase in property values, taxes and cost of living, we are about $300.00 a month less that the average around here.

The landlord is now 68 years old and has decided to sell all his rental units.

Our neighbors on the other side of our duplex are paying $250.00 more than we are and trust me, their side will go up at least $100.00 when it sells.

Yes, I have a good job and yes, Terry has a decent income with his pension, and yes I could afford to pay the increase, but that may will be changing soon. We have it on good authority that within the next year, my job may cease to exist. My chances of finding another job with the benefits, ie medical and paycheck I get now, is next to nothing.

Scared? Hell yes!

Buying our house is not an option. Remember me talking about 5 years ago when Terry closed his business? Well, we have been paying off all that fun we had while it was doing well. Nope, won't be buying it. We are however right on the income line for moving into elderly/handicapped housing. We are on the list at two different places, but one only has 2 handicapped units and the other has only 5. Everyone in those units is happy and basically healthy and don't look like they're moving anytime soon.

It's funny actually. If we move into one of them, our rent actually goes up. That's fine though because if I lost my job after we moved in, our rent would be adjusted accordingly.

At the moment, we are not being told to move. We can't be sure we even will be. This whole worry thing may be moot. Even if the place sells, we may be allowed to remain here (with an increase, I'm sure) until a unit becomes available. That is what Terry is convinced of. He says I'm worrying for nothing.

The part about being so sad is real though. I told him last night that I didn't realize why this all had me so upset until yesterday. It suddenly dawned on me right before I wrote that entry that in 51 years, I have never lived in one place this long. This is the longest stretch I have ever had of staying in one place. For that matter, this is the longest I have ever been married too. I guess I thought we would live here forever.

At least now I recognize where all my depression was coming from. That's half the battle. Now it seems today that a weight has been lifted. At least I know why I have been so down and I can deal with it. Move on, as they say. It is impossible to get through an emotional crisis when you don't even know what it is. Now I do.

I will be fine now.

Thanks for asking.

Move on people, nothing to see here.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen