Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Wednesday, Dec. 15, 2004 4:42 P.M.

Wal-rant

When will I Ever Learn

I bought my sister a $25.00 gift certificate today at Walmart.com (C'mooooon Googlers.) Do you know what an online $25.00 gift card is worth? About $18.00. Buyer Beware.

I called the online phone number and was told that gift cards DO NOT include taxes or S&H. I am seeing red right now. Maybe all of you know about this practice, but I sure as hell didn't. And if the order after taxes, S&H comes to less than the $25.00 they credit you the balance toward your next purchase. For anyone that does not have a credit card to shop online, I guess they get to pocket the change. What a deal. If 1000 people buy cards and the average person leaves, say $.80 and never goes back to order again, that comes to $800.00 they get to keep. Hmmm.

I wrote them the following after calming down a bit.

I am very disappointed in Walmart online. I purchased an online gift card for my little sister. She received it and went to shop. The amount was $25.00. She found a bathrobe she had been looking at and it was on sale for $19.00. She added it to her cart and when she went to checkout, it came up to over the $25.00. She does not have a credit card to pay the difference and she should not have to! She called me and I was beside myself with embarrasment. I told her the card was for $25.00, but in all reality, it is only worth approximatly $18.00. If you are going to charge for shipping on gift cards, you should include that in the price of the card. The recipient should not be expected to pay for a gift! This is not even mentioned on your website. In my opinion, a $25.00 gift card should be worth $25.00, not $25.00 minus shipping, handling and taxes. This is not acceptable. Were you to state on your website that the person redeeming a gift card is responsible for these charges, it would not have bothered me. I would have gladly ordered for her and paid the extra. This borders on false advertising and I will be checking with the Better Business Bureau and the Attorney Generals office to find out if it is.

In this season of giving, it saddens me that a company the size of Walmart would engage in these tactics.

I believe this is the last time I will be shopping with walmart and I will be posting this experience online to my reading audience shortly.

Cosmic

I know the spirit is in giving and I have no problem with giving ~~~~ to my sister ~~~~. I do have a problem with giving a gift to Walmart! As it was, she is as frugal as I am. They only got to keep about $.30 of hers.

Ok, that makes 2 rants this Christmas season. I guess I should get naked, spray myself with pine scent, and run around the house draped in nothing but Christmas tree lights. Maybe then I will get in the festive mood.

Ok, I did manage to get my tree up and decorated today. That counts for something, right? And I did get three of the Christmas presents I ordered in the mail today and that makes me happy.

Jingle all the way....

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen