Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Thursday, Feb. 19, 2004 7:31 A.M.

housing

Good morning. I just thought I would update before you all thought I had left. No such luck bwha-a-a-a. I have been kind of busy. Not really. I just thought I�d make is sound like my life was fuller than it actually is.

I was on a mission last night. I received a card in my mailbox yesterday from a lady in NJ. It was addressed to Mr. I-have-no-clue-who-he-is. It had my address on it. We have lived here for 7 years and unless he has taken up residency in my basement, he isn�t here. Never was.

So I decided to play mailman. The reason I did this is two-fold. The first is because I love a good mystery. Second is because, looking at the return address, it was sent by someone with the first name of Emma. Now I know there are little girls named Emma all over the place nowadays, but most all Emma�s I know of are either up to the age of 4 or over the age of 60. I could tell (I thought) by the handwriting that this was probably an elderly person.

I went to anywho.com and tried to find her. I had her name and address so I figured it would be easy. 5 phone calls later, I realized this was not to be the case. I must have been having a blonde moment because when I snapped out of it, I called NJ information and just like that, I had her phone number.

Elderly? Oh ya. I think they heard me yelling to her in Maine. I explained to her that I got the card and she said it would be fine to just mail it back to her. Then she proceeded to tell me that it was her step-grandson that it was addressed to. She said he is handicapped and lived in my town in a residence somewhere and that was the address she had. Through this, I got the phone number of his parents that live in Massachusetts and called them.

As of 8:30 last night, there was no answer. I am going to track them down, find out where this kid is and see to it that he gets his card, damn it! Oh ya, I am just so busy. Sure I am.

Hubby and I made a decision. I am putting in an application for a unit where I work. There are 50 units for elderly/handicapped there. There will be a long wait, because there are only 5 that are wheelchair accessible and those people aren�t looking to leave anytime soon. We just figured it is the most sensible thing to do.

We planned on buying this house, then the plan went to buying just our side (duplex) but then I got thinking about it. It would be one thing if we already owned it, but why at 50 would I want to take on the responsibility of taxes, upkeep and all that? These units are two bedrooms. They are nice. And the great thing is that if anything should happen with my job, we are safe. As it is, we only pay about one half of the fair market rent for our apartment. If anything happens to my landlord, God forbid, or he should sell it, we would never find another apartment for the same price. In public housing, we would even pay lass than we pay now!

Add to that, no more shoveling, no more paying out money for utilities, no more paying for trash removal and no more worries about the rent hikes and we decided to go for it.

The rent is based on 30% of our income with deductions for Terry�s medical expenses. It is a wonderful deal and if anything should happen to me, he is taken care of.

I don�t know how long we will have to wait, but at least I know it will happen eventually.

Well, time to hit the road for work. You all have a fantastic day.

Later�

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen