Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

2001-09-16 10:26 a.m.

My Granddaughter

Talking to My Granddaughter

I asked my daughter if she had spoken to my granddaughter about this week's tragedy. She said no, but that Brittni doesn't know what's going on. Brittni is 9. You bet your bottom dollar she knows. If not all of it, she knows something is going on.

I asked my daughter if she wanted me to speak to her. My daughter loves her three little girls but it's Gramma she has the long conversations with. So she stayed with me last night. And we talked....

I asked if she watched any television this past week. She said no, except the Nick channel.

I asked if she noticed anything different this week.

She said she noticed mommy and all mommy's friends bought flags and that everyone was sticking them everwhere.

I asked if she knows why. She said no.

I asked if she had asked her mom why they were doing it. She said no. And then my heart broke.

I asked her why she didn't ask someone and her answer brought tears to my eyes. She said,

I'm not sure I want to know.

I then had the hardest converstion in my life as I proceeded to tell her what has happened and what is happening.

I told her about the "bad men" that stole the planes. I told her what they did with the planes. I told her how sad the country is and told her that Grammie and Mommy and everyone in the world is sad.

I told her she will hear people say we should go bomb different countries and people.

I told her that the men that did this were very bad but that not all the people in their country are bad. I told her that people often say things when they are angry but that she needs to remember that, for the most part, people are good. I told her of all the people in NYC trying to help find people alive, I told her of all the people sending money, giving blood and saying prayers. I didn't lie to her.... but I wanted to.

I wanted to tell her that it was all over and she had nothing to worry about, but I couldn't lie. She is 9 years old and she would see right through it. And then who would she trust?

So I told her we may have a war. I tried to assure her that if we do, that most of it will not be fought in this country.

Then she asked a question that will stay in my mind forever.

"Grammie, we will be safe, right?"

I told her as honestly as I could that we have great Army, Navy, Air Force and Marines that will do everything they can to make sure we are safe. I couldn't simply say, "yes". God I wish I could have. But she deserves more than that. She deserves the truth.

We talked for a long time and I think she is ok. She knows that at least tonight she is ok. She knows that mommy and me and the US military will do everything in our power to keep it that way.

God, please keep her safe.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen