Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Wednesday, May. 29, 2002 10:40 P.M.

I am SEW frustrated!

Betsy Ross, I Ain't!!

Remember here when I said I was going to make some skirts? Yup, I said piece of cake. 30 minutes per skirt. Yup, I said that. Once again, I have opened my facial orifice and inserted one of my bi-peds.

Amazing when you take up sewing how much you really need that you don't have. This would start with a talent for sewing, for instance. Next, Take scissors. I have two pair of scissors that I have had for ages. One pair almost cuts paper and the other pair I use on hubby's hair. He must have very weak hair because there was no way those scissors were going to cut cloth. I am sure it couldn't have been the little pie tins that I cut up, or the fact that I sometimes use them as a screwdriver, can opener or other such thing. Naw! couldn�t be.

Well anyway, I sat down to do some serious sewing. I managed to cut enough material for a skirt. Now this wasn�t supposed to be rocket science. You take some cloth, hold it up and cut away all the material that isn�t a skirt, right? Ok, I am being a little silly. I DID measure it, allowing for a hem and a hem at the top to put in the elastic. So far, so good. Until I grab the scissors. It took me over an hour to gnaw through that cloth. But I did manage. Now I sit down to my new sewing machine. Well, it�s not actually new. It is 3 years old. I told hubby I HAD to have one because I was going to make all my own clothes and clothes for all my grandbabies. Ya right! The third time I used it, (And I DID sew a Barbie outfit for my granddaughter, but by the time I finished with it, that damn doll had grow two sizes!) the tension or something messed up.

Now you can give me a computer that has had the Crash of the Titans and I can get it running. Give me a screwed up bobbin and my fingers turn to molasses and my brain turns to play dough. Not a pretty sight, trust me.

So now, I am back to the present. I have my clothe all cut and I even manage to put in pins along where I have to sew without skewering myself like a shish-ka-bob. How, I don�t know. Now I�m cooking! I start sewing and begin to feel like little Suzy Homemaker. I sewed the whole length of the skirt and held it up to admire my handi-work. Gee, ya know how if you pull the front and back of a skirt apart, all you see is an invisible line? That may be because they turn it inside out before they sew it!

ARRRRGGGGHH!

I put aside the skirt until I could buy one of those things, I think they call it a seam ripper. I a not going to give up!

I went to Wallyworld yesterday. I bought the seam ripper, thread, every color in the rainbow, new scissors, elastic, 2, count them, 2 patterns, and a partridge in a pear tree. No, I didn�t really buy the partridge. I was just seeing if you were paying attention.

I am goin to try this again on Saturday. I am determined to wear my new creation to our Summer office Dinner on Saturday night. I will! I WILL!

All else fails, the thrift shop is open on Saturday. There IS a cute little number in the window.

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen