Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Monday, Aug. 12, 2002 1:38 P.M.

Vaca and Goodbys and Major Rant

Howdy.

Yup. I'm still alive. Just haven't sat to write everything down. I went through Uncle Bob's Army for him and wow, you wouldn't believe how many people just up and left town. I have to laugh too at how many people leave one diary to start another. What's up with that? Do they think if they change their name and start a new diary, their life will mysteriously become full and interesting, or better? Maybe it will. I am sticking with the one I started. I'm not going anywhere.

Another thing a lot of people did was password-protected their diary. I will never understand that. If you only want a select few to read your diary, why not just e-mail them with updates? Go figure.

I have also been catching up on everyone's diary. I was in that funk for the past month and really got behind. So if you've had a baby, gotten married, gotten divorced, became grandparents or had any other life altering events, I will get back to you. But in the meantime, Congratulations, I'm sorry to hear that, Go you! and any other appropriate greetings. I am sorry I got so behind. It won't happen again. Well, until next time anyway.

I have really enjoyed these past few vacation days. The weather has been beautiful. I have fixed my bathroom sink, Fixed my scanner, Cleaned the house, finished the laundry, Gone for drinks with hubby, cooked most every night (No, Terry, that was temporary, don't get too used to it. I have felt better than I have in weeks. No, I haven't beat the cigarettes, but I haven't thrown in the towel yet either. It'll happen.

_________________________

I almost fell over a few nights ago. Terry answered the phone and handed it to me telling me it was some guy. It was nzforestguy calling me all the way from New Zealand!!! Wow, it was great. He is such a sweet kid. It's funny. You have a preconceived notion about how someone looks or sounds when you haven't met them yet. Well, I know what he looks like because his picture is posted on his site, but I was so wrong about his voice. It is much deeper than I thought it would be. If I were 20 and single..... just kidding, my GOD! He is a child! Well, not to another 20 or 21 year old of course. Just to us cronologically challanged individuals. It was a great chat anyway, Sam.

_________________________

I haven't gone anywhere lately except on Friday when Terry and I went to the VFW for drinks. We ended up buying tickets to the picnic on the 18th. I think it'll be fun.

Next week-end my sister Buella is coming by to visit. She was living in Maine but is stopping by here on her way to North Carolina. I will miss her. It was nice seeing here these couple of times since she had been back. Her daughter lives in NC and she has missed it since she left. Not to mention the apartment she was in went up to double the rent.

_________________________

I don't know what's going on in this country.

I am as liberal as the next guy and I don't deny anybody the right to cleans safe housing but come on! Portland Maine and Lewiston Maine is now about 40% people from other countries. If you are here from another country and have a job and contribute, I have no problem with that, but there is a low income housing complex in Portland now that is 30 to 40 % of a particular nationality and NONE OF THEM WORK! Nope. The get food stamps, free rent and free medical. That you and I are paying for! Wake up! My own daughter is having a hell of a time finding an apartment for her and her three girls because there are NONE! What is wrong with this picture? She works every day and many nights and gets no assistance of any sort, but She is having a hard time finding a place to live. My solution? You want to come to this country, fine. You have 3 months to find a job and if you don't? GO HOME! It isn't my fault that your country is poor. It isn't my fault that your goverment is oppressive. Why does my family have to do without? Get a job or go back to where you cam from. And while I'm at it, take the people that were born in THIS country that won't work with you! Assistance should only be given to those that have a genuine need. Give it to peole that can't work. Those that are medically unable. Give help to those that are forced to work for minimum wage. Nobody can actually live on that. Give it to those that don't have the capacity to work. But, for God's sake STOP giving it to those able bodied that just simply refuse to work. The men that just hang on the corners with their buddies cause they don't like this job, or that job is too boring. Stop giving it to the mother with 5 kids that just get pregnant so she doesn't have to work. I don't have all the answers, but I wish someone did. I believe the plaque on the Statue of Liberty (I could be wrong here) says "Give us your tired, your poor. Your huddled masses yearning to be free." I don't think it said, "Give us your criminals, your druggies. You lazy asses to live off of us."

To those of you who come here from other countries that work, attend our churches, earn your money and work hard. You are welcome to stay. All others, please go home.

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen