Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Sunday, Sept. 08, 2002 8:36 A.M.

911

My granddaughter is coming here this morning for her Birthday presents. It is a strange feeling that I have. Her birthday is September 11. She will be 10. It is also my brother, Dale's birthday. He will be 52. Somehow, I need to get their birthdays out of the way this year. I don't want to celebrate ON their birthday. It is almost the same feeling I get if someone says something funny at a funeral. You laugh and then immediately feel guilt. I don't want to laugh or smile on September 11th. It would feel similar to blasphemy. weetabix put the day quite eloqently in her post today. She said it all.

I love all the reminder's I get in e-mails, on TV and radio. "We must never forget". How in the world can we forget? For anyone under 50, it is probably the most heartbreaking horrific thing to have happened in our country in our lifetime. For thousands, it had been a very personal tragedy. I did not know personally anyone involved in those attacks, though I do know those who had brothers and friends. I still can't fathom it. I still feel saddened by it and I still am fearful that it isn't over. I can only hope and pray that it is.

We have had many lives lost in other situations like Viet Nam, Beruit and other military actions, but the fact that it was totally unexpected made it very different. It is easier to deal with when it's not on our own soil. It was the first time in my life that I felt totally powerless and exposed. It brings the reality of war to our doorsteps. A whole lot different than watching it in the safety of our livingrooms on C-span.

Well enough of my soap box for today. Have to get ready for my kiddles.

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen