Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Sunday, Mar. 07, 2004 10:12 A.M.

Sunshine and Sundries

The sun is out! The sun is out! That is a nice way to start the day. Ok, I want to ask anyone if they have ever heard of this.

I wake up some nights and some mornings with a Charlie horse in the calf of my right leg. This is not just a mild ache. This is a jump out of bed from a sound sleep agony. It doesn�t happen every night or even one a week. I probably average about once every three weeks.

I have been told many �cures� for his from quinine pills (I don�t really need another pill in my daily ritual) to potassium. So far, what seems to be working (fingers crossed) is a suggestion from my pharmacist. He suggested about two weeks ago that I flex and hold my leg muscles a couple of times before going to bed. He said to stand up to a wall and do sort of push-ups for a few minutes. Instead, I just tighten up my legs and hold it for a count of 5 three times. So far, so good. I haven�t had one since.

My landlord came over the other day and was talking to Terry. He mentioned to him that he had read about an old homeopathic remedy for the night leg cramps. You take a bar of soap and open it up. This can be any soap except Dove. I don�t know why but it doesn�t work with Dove. After taking the paper off, you slide it under the bottom sheet near where your legs are and leave it there.

Normally, I wouldn�t give this idea the time of day, but I looked it up and found an article by the syndicated Dr. Gott that says he has been told by many people that it works. He can�t explain why it works, but tons of people swear by it. If my cramps return, I think I�ll give it a shot. Anyone else heard of this or tried it? Let me know.


Now on a silly note, something that happened at the grocery store. This was so surreal, I expected Candid Camera to pop out at any minute, seriously.

I was standing next to a lady in the store, looking for my diet Jell-O, when I heard people talking. I looked up and around the corner came two people. First was a rather large man wearing a brown pullover. I think it may have had a college-like insignia on it. He was talking a mile a minute to someone on his cell-phone.

Directly in back of him was a woman, wearing an identical pullover also talking on a cell. That would have been strange enough, as they were walking single file and taking the same exact steps, but at the same moment, they both, (also both carrying a little shopping basket) stopped and turned toward the shelves. Almost at the same time, they each reached up and pulled down something and put it in their basket. Then they proceeded to turn and continue walking, one behind the other, down the isle and around the corner.

I just stared for a moment and then looked at the woman next to me and asked her if she thought that was as strange as I did. I think she used the words �really bizarre".

I love shopping sometimes. You get to see the strangest sights.

You all have a great Sunday!

Later�

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen