Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Monday, Mar. 21, 2005 5:19 P.M.

Bite Me Murphy!!

Murphy�s Law. �What can go wrong� Will.�

Story of the weekend

First but probably least miserable in the grand scheme of things was the Great Diaryland "Crash of 05", thought Friday night and most of Saturday that was the biggest crisis I had suffered in a while. I can�t say that now. I have put off posting this until I could absorb it and process it. I am ok with it now. She is ok, she will be ok.

She, is sister Stella. Stella got a job at one of the local nursing homes here. Before she could start work, of course, she had to have a physical. Part of the physical is a Tine test. She tested positive for TB. I was floored. She has passed the infectious stage and probably did months ago. X-rays showed scar tissue on the tops of both lungs. But she will start a round of medication next week. The whole regimen is anywhere from 6 to 9 months.

The doctor told her to inform anyone in the family and anyone else that she has had contact with in the past year. How do you do that? It seems near impossible. She feels terrible that we all have to be tested and she is holding her breath hoping none of us test positive.

I am sure none of us will. I had my x-ray today. The doctor was suppose to call me back with the results but as yet (5:00) I have had no call. Lori took herself and the girls for their test today. They will have the skin test, so they won�t have an answer for 72 hours. Oh, I hate waiting.

Next on the Murphy�s Law agenda for this weekend was Terry

He woke me Yesterday morning about 8:00. He asked if I could go down and get him a cup of coffee and a pill because his elevator wouldn�t go down. It would go about three feet and come to a dead stop. Good news was that it DID come back up.

I went and got his coffee and spent the better part of yesterday trying to fix the situation. I found out what was wrong. A wire that goes from the panel into the bottom of the lift part was catching on the edge. I took a plastic rod and held it away as I pushed the down button and �wha-la!� It went all the way to the bottom. Finally!

Terry went down, back up and down again during the course of the morning but I had to leave and go shopping. To make sure it wouldn�t stop again, I got it to come halfway down and while terry held the door open, I taped the wire away from where it could catch. Smart huh? Not very.

As soon as I finished, I tried it and nothing. Nada, Zip, Zilch. So I went shopping and came home and spent the rest of last night and half of this morning trying to get an elevator repairman. This, my friends, is not as easy as finding, say, a plumber.

We had to get someone from providence to come down. And let me tell you, plumbers are in the wrong job moneywise. I wish I could have used a plumber. This little trip with mileage and labor comes to a total of about $300.00. Luckily, he only lengthened the wire. All the pulling lately had ripped it in half. He didn�t charge for the wire though. How generous.

Well, at least nobody can say Terry�s elevator doesn�t go all the way to the top�� Budda-bing, Budda-bang!

They say that things happen in threes. Hopefully next weekend the �three�s� will be IN my favor! Here�s hoping.

Oh yah, Happy freakin Spring!

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen