Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Tuesday, Mar. 22, 2005 12:25 P.M.

Aggravation, The Gift That Keeps on Giving.

I am sitting here waiting for a call from my doctor. More on that later. (Damn Hospitals! Arrgg) and was just given a bit of wonderful news. You already may, or may not know it. You may or may not even care. I know of at least one who does. She is poolagirl. So anyway, I thought I would share a bit of news.

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man�s Chest

I�m so happy I could pee!!

I WILL be at the theater on opening day. You can bet on that.

And� (yes, it gets better!) They are already planning on a THIRD one!!

It don�t get much better than this.

Onto a much more sober note, I have been following the news of Terri Schiavo. I must have read 30 or more articles in the past few days. I have to admit, I am glad it isn�t my decision to make.

The media has once again turned this into a three-ring circus. I am sure they aren�t the only ones at fault here.

It is my opinion , and I am entitles here folks, that the quickest solution would be for her husband Michael to sign guardianship of her over to her parents.

He has established a new family, complete with two children in the past 15 years. I am not saying he was right or wrong here. I am simply stating a fact. Whether he is right or wrong is not mine or anyone else�s call. I for one, can�t imagine putting my life on hold for over 15 years after being told that there was no hope.

If he wants to get on with his life and that is what motivates him, then all he needs to do is sign over power of attorney to the parents and they can file divorce proceedings in her name. He can get on with his life and Terri�s parents can continue to oversee her care.

If his motive is to end her life because he believes it is what she would want, again I am sorry but it should have been in writing.

What is to stop anyone from ending a loved one�s life even if it isn�t what they wanted?

This really exemplifies the need for living wills. Everyone over the age of 18 should have one of these. It leaves nothing to chance and takes the burden of the decision out of a loved one�s hands. It also would have kept this whole ordeal from happening.

A transcript of the trial a few years ago which can be found here doesn�t convince me that she would want the tube removed, though it is interesting. The fact of the monies involved in this case also give pause for interpretation.

The media is guilty of at least one miscarriage here too. All that the news films are showing is two video clips of Terri. In both clips, we see her seeming to smile and follow her mom�s face with her eyes. The one fact that most of these news stories have left out is that both those clips were made over three years ago. A few people supposedly, (supposedly being the operative word here) say that she has had no reoccurrence of this since then.

Again, it is just my opinion that as long as she is not in any pain and can breath on her own, and since her parents are both willing to assume the responsibility, they should be allowed to. I fear that if not, this could set a precedent and we could find this the first step in legalized euthanasia. And there is a very fine line between that, my friends, and something paramount to murder.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen