Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Tuesday, Mar. 21, 2006 9:01 P.M.

Beam Me Up Scotty! There's no Intelligent Life down here!

Hey everyone. (tap, tap, tap) Is this thing on? (tap, tap, tap) someone turn the lights up, I can�t see anybody. Oh, ok. There you are. I knew I heard someone in here.

First of all, I am a Trekkie. I am proud of that. I have been a Trekkie since 1966. Ahhh, the memories. Back in the days when Tribbles were fat and William Shatner wasn�t.

Back then, people (blasphemers) thought Star Trek was all Sci-Fi and nothing about the show could EVER really happen.

Ha, I say to them, Ha!! Who�s laughing now? Telecommunication devices, (cough, cough cellphones)Computers where people could talk to other people and see them at the same time?(cough, cough, webcam) laser beams (cough, cough, surgery procedures) and transporters (cough, cough, never mind that one) are common day items now. In fact, some of the things that were impossibilities back then are now obsolete in our modern world.

If my mother was alive now, she would be amazed at the technology. Well, she would be amazed for about the 20 minutes it would take her to get to Foxwood�s and that would probably stall her curiosity for a while. She wouldn't leave till she won.

I remember transistor radios when they only had AM and you had to keep turning them sideways and backwards and all kinds of angles to get the reception right. And they were big!

Then came boom boxes held on the shoulders of the cool guys that were usually 40 pounds heavier than the guys carrying them. Now they music is held in a handheld device smaller than a pack of cigarettes. Wow.

How about music storage? We never heard of an 8-track in the early 60�s and now, nobody even owns one. CD�s are the next thing to go. Yup. Trust me on this. Within 10 years, you�ll be using them as coasters. DVD�s too. You will just have a memory stick with a chip that will hold all your music and all your movies. (Yes, I know. They already have them for music and data, but in the future, it will hold 3 to 5 movies. You will just plug it into the jack on the TV and watch your stored movies. When you want more, you will download to the stick from your computer or run to blockbuster and plug into their mainframe to download the new releases. Yup. That�s the way it will be, March 21st 2016.

Another thing I see happening (ok, I see things. Leave me alone.) My son came up with this when he was 12. 23 years ago. You will download a program and insert it into another machine in the corner of a large room. When activated, it will produce a life sized hologram of your favorite band. AC/DC, Rolling Stones, whatever. Though I think another 10 years for Mick Jagger is pushing it. Hell, the LAST 10 he has been.

Who knows. Maybe cryogenics will soon the norm too. Freeze yourself during PMS or Menopause and thaw yourself out later. Ok, maybe we will skip that one.

What got me started on this totally silly entry was chailife with this little quiz. It just goes to show you. Once you start me up, there�s no stopping me.

Your results:
You are Uhura
Uhura
70%
Deanna Troi
60%
Chekov
55%
Will Riker
55%
Mr. Scott
50%
Beverly Crusher
50%
Geordi LaForge
50%
Worf
50%
Spock
42%
James T. Kirk (Captain)
40%
An Expendable Character (Redshirt)
40%
Jean-Luc Picard
35%
Data
27%
Leonard McCoy (Bones)
15%
Mr. Sulu
10%
You are a good communicator with a
pleasant soft-spoken voice.
Also a talented singer.
Click here to take the "Which Star Trek character am I?" quiz...

Wow. I didn�t know I was black. Ya learn something new every day.

|

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen