Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Wednesday, May. 11, 2005 9:49 P.M.

Drivel

It�s still busy at work. Something�s in the air and I�m not sure what it is. Boss lady is scurrying around like she is planning her grand Exodus.

Things in my office are weird. Boss lady and one co-worker are both old enough to retire with full Social Security and pension. They won�t retire because they don�t want to lose their insurance. They are old enough (and so are their husbands) for medicare, but of course that doesn�t cover everything and it doesn�t cover prescriptions.

Our contract is up for renewal October 1st. They want to negotiate for insurance after retirement. They are hoping that they will add it in that if you have worked 25 years or more that you can buy into it for a percentage of the premium. If they should get it, I wouldn�t be surprised if they both retire by the end of the year. That would definitely mix things up. They have been there since the beginning, 1977 and 1978 respectively. Then you have Charl who has been there since 1988 and myself, 1994. If boss lady and Jan retire, they will have to hire outside, as there isn�t anyone around here that knows their jobs. I would have the choice of taking Jan�s if I wanted it, but though it would pay more money, it would be a position that I�m not sure I�d want. I would have to take a lot of thinking on it.

So that�s what�s looming on the horizon. It will be interesting watching the contract negotiations to see what we will lose or gain. If we renew the contract as is for the next three years, I will be happy. I just don�t want to lose anything. It looks like we may have to start paying a percentage of our insurance though. I can�t complain. Our insurance is the best you can get. I would have to pretend to be pissed so they won�t try to take anything else away, but I would still be grateful for what I had. We�ll see.

I forgot to mention this. Did anyone besides me watch Rosie O�Donell last week in the movie, �Riding on the Bus with my Sister�? What a great movie! If you didn�t see it and it comes back on, you have to watch it. Rosie played a mentally challenged person woman. She played it with sensitivity, warmth and humor. The only one I have ever seen do a job as well as that was Sean Penn in �Sam I Am�. Again, if you haven�t seen it and it comes back on, don�t miss it.

Let�s see, what else was I going to write about? I am NOT writing about the two girls in Illinois. It hurts too much to even think about.

I guess I�ll head up north and attend Lilly Whites party. Night all.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen