Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Sunday, Jun. 18, 2006 10:51 A.M.

Happy Father's day!

Happy Father's Day to all you Dads, Grandads and any other man that is raising or helping to raise kids.

And Happy Birthday to Paul McCartney. See what's going on with your life now? You should have married me when you had the chance. So what if I was only 10. You blew it big time mister. But I still love you.

I had really, really nice birthday. My comment section and my mailbox runneth over!

We hung around the house until around 2:00 in the afternoon. We were trying to hook up the new TV to the cable box. This would not be a problem, except there are more possible setups than Bush has excuses (well ok, big stretch there.) So we finally threw in the towel and for $25.00 decided to let the cable company do it. They can�t get here until Tuesday, do I just bypassed the box and went directly into the TV. We don�t get all the chancels, we can�t record, and we cant freeze the show while we go potty, but it�s only for 2 days.

At 2:00, we headed out to eat at Henry�s. I wouldn�t say we don�t go out much, but it turns out that Henry�s had closed. Five years ago! Not to worry. It is now Captain Tim�s. We love seafood as much as we love Chinese, so that part was fine by us.

The hostess seated us and took our drink order. Their frozen mudslides are awesome. I had foodgasms over it. Terry shocked the hell out of me by ordering a vodka and 7. He hasn�t had so much as a beer in five years. Between his meds and having to drive he only drank half of it. He said he was starting to get a buzz, so he pushed it away.

They brought the menu and I suffered sticker shock! Yes, it was a nice restaurant and the food was excellent, but come on! It�s a very small place in the middle of a shopping strip! I really expected eight to ten dollar meals, but the least expensive dish was $15.00! The others ranged from $18.00 to $21.00! For the amount that we eat, I just couldn�t justify the prices. Then I noticed they had lunch specials. These were served until 4:00 and it was 3:45.

Terry had the Grilled Reuben and I had a lobster roll. Both came with fries. Just that and the two drinks came to almost $34.00. With tip, $40.00. That was still steep, but a little more reasonable.

Call me cheap if you want, but I guess I�m from the old school. And I guess I�m getting more like my mother every day. I mentally figure out while looking, how much it would cost to make it myself.

And I have to say that it was Terry�s treat, but just because he was paying, didn�t mean I wanted to throw his money away either. Aside from the chunk of shell in my lobster roll, it was really good food, though.

From there, we went to the VFW. There were only about half a dozen people there, but the table closest the pool table was full, so we just had one drink, (coke for Terry), and left.

I heard from almost everyone in my family, so it was a nice day and evening. We had the TV on and I played Pogo and chatted with a couple of buddies. I stayed up until almost two in the morning so I wouldn�t be up at the crack of dawn. I got up at 9:00. So far, I have cleaned the kitchen, picked up some clutter and am ready for my second load of laundry. I am determined I will do no work from this Monday until next Monday. The reason for this?

They finally signed our contract!!!!! Yay!!!! This means our benefits are retroactive from last October and as of last October, I have another week of vacation. I am now up to 4 weeks a year. We are also guaranteed no co-pays on our insurance premiums for the next three year. Yes, no matter how bad some of my days go, they are stuck with me until I retire, which by my calculations is in nine more years.

I am so very blessed at this time in my life. My marriage is wonderful, my kids are doing fine, I love my home and I have a good job. I honestly cannot think of a single thing that I am lacking.

I do count my blessings. It wasn�t always this way. Actually, it was never this way. Not until about 11 years ago. That goes to show you that all things come to those that wait. Well, it comes when you put some effort into it. I am a firm believer that you can have most anything within reason if you believe you can. Positive attitude is seriously under-rated.

As a very wise man once said, "Make it so!" Jean-Luc Picard is SO, a very wise man. Well, I think so anyway.

Did I say I am 53? Damn, I love this never growing up stuff. (That was discussed by another wise man/boy. Peter Pan. I think they made a few movies and plays about him.

Later��

Cosmic,
the Eternal Optimist.


|

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen