Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Sunday, Jul. 02, 2006 8:28 P.M.

Weird weekend for some of us.

Boy, was this weekend of misfortunes!

First, we have sallydallydo's poor hubby going through a ceiling.

Next, we have Big Red, aka Coffeegrind's hubby smashing his thumb with a hammer.

Follow that up with coffeegrind not knowing said hammer was on top of the ladder when she moved it. result? Turned her into a "hammer-head." No, not of the shark variety. She ended up hitting her face, creating two cuts.

I think if it were me, I would get rid of the hammer. I think it's possessed.

And I hope that's the end of my buddies' misfortunes.

I had my own today.

I spent about four hours in the emergency room.

Remember my telling about the kidney stone I had? Not once, but twice.

I thought it was a kidney stone, because my ex-BIL had very similar symptoms. (Including pain far worse than childbirth, I shit you not.)

Add to that, the second time, my own doctor did a urine test the following day and found blood. He agreed, I had probably passed a stone. Probably, being the operative word.

The doctor today in the ER? "NOT A KIDNEY STONE!"

"Then, what?", I asked.

"I don't know." Was his answer.

The did an EKG, - normal.
Blood in urine? - negative.
Blood work? - Sent along with urine to the lab.

I have to call my doctor tomorrow to see what he says.

This is so very frustrating. I can't begin to describe the intensity of pain I felt. It was worse than childbirth. I am not being dramatic, this is a fact.

I am not a hypochondriac, nor do I have a low tolerance for pain. I am the one who came home from having my mastectomy and tossed the vicoden into the toilet and took Advil.

I described what happened to the doctor.

I was sitting on the couch with Terry, watching a movie. All of a sudden I got the familiar pain in my lower back. Within 2 minutes, I was in agony. The pain was in my face, under my eye. It went down my neck and down my right side and around my back. But at the same time, it was on the same side, right above my waist.

He asked if it was a sharp pain. I told him that it was a dull pain, but it increased tremendously over a period of seconds and reached an unbearable plateau. After pacing the floor, bending over a few times, and yes, jumping up and down, it started to subside. But within a few moments it started increasing again.

This went on like this for about half an hour.

I finally called Lori to take me to the hospital and went into the bathroom. to freshen up a bit.

After washing up as best I could with the extreme pain, I put on fresh undies and leaned forward to get my toothbrush.

Just as I leaned into the water from the tap, it was gone. In an instant there was no more pain. At all.

My explanation to him sounded ridiculous, even to me, and I was there! I half expected him to order a psychiatric evaluation on me. Seriousley.

I decided to go to the hospital anyway. I was terrified it was going to come back again as sudenly as it left. Fortunately, it hasn't yet.

I got to the hospital at 2:35. I got home a little after 7:00.

They had taken all the tests adn told me to have my doctor call them tomorrow for the results.

I will.

The ER doctor says if it had been a kidney stone, it wouldn't have given me pain in my face and neck. It also wouldn't have gone away that suddenly.
But he has no idea what it is. The fact that I have had it three times in the past couple of years, makes him adamant that I follow up with my doctor.

The pain alone is enough for me.

If this sounds familiar to any of you, please let me know in my comments.
I am at a loss.

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen