Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Saturday, Aug. 27, 2005 11:09 P.M.

Fantastic Saturday!

I�m feeling much more at peace today. Goodgirl has a home. This was always an option, but I was holding off until the end. Well, I�ve had no calls from the senior center, nor any of the feelers I put out. So after much heartache, much deliberation and much thought, I have reached a decision. I am giving her to my daughter.

Now I know some of you are probably thinking that I should have just done that in the first place. Well, the reasons I didn�t were many. Goodgirl has spent the last 8 years since her birth with just Terry and me. She has been the Queen of the place. She comes in and out when she wants and sleeps where ever she wants. She doesn�t like being picked up, but loves to jump up on your lap. She has never heard yelling. She isn�t used to noise.

Lori has three girls 12, 7 and 5. They yell. They scream. Lori yells and screams. This isn�t to say this is angry yelling and screaming. It is normal noise with a house full of kids and a mom that takes after her own mom. Ya, I was a yeller and screamer when the kids were younger. I became softer and quieter over the years.

The two younger girls will insist on picking her up. There is a huge chance that until she gets used to them, she will bolt the first time an open door presents itself.

It�s still better than the alternative. And I get visitations. I won�t visit for a few months though. That would hurt too much. I know she is going to be miserable and feel abandoned, but at least she will be with people she knows. At least she will be warm and fed and loved. At least she will be alive.

This week end something amazing happened. Do you believe in fate? Do you believe that everything happens for a reason? I do and if I didn�t before, I would now. A little background.

Terry�s power chair is over 5 years old. We have great insurance. He is getting a brand new one in a couple of weeks. We never paid for the first one. Like I said, we have great insurance. We were trying to figure out what to do with this old one.

It is a little rough looking. He has had to duct tape a few spots on the seat that split at the seams. He has to charge it every night instead of once every two or three days like he did when it was new. One tire is kind of chewed up from rocks in the driveway. Other than that, it works ok.

We wanted to find someone to give it to that couldn�t buy one or get one with insurance. Ok, so there�s the background. I was going to get my hair done yesterday, but changed my mind and came straight home. I went today. I go to Fantastic Sam�s (Love a $14.00 cut) and I always ask for Frank. He is usually the only one that will cut it short enough the first time.

So anyway, I went in today and the place was busy so instead of writing Frank�s name on the request line, I just left it blank. I got Rebecca. I knew her dad was ill and was in North Carolina. Her mom died a few months ago and she had been trying to get him to RI so she could look after him. As I sat there, she told me that his emphysema was so bad the he was confined to a wheelchair. He is only 58. She also said that he was living in a cottage here in town. Her brother is staying there with him. But then she said that she was also concerned because he was on a blood thinner and he kept hitting his hands on the door jams trying to wheel himself from room to room. His skin is paper thin and she was so afraid that he would break the skin and bleed.

I asked if she could hold a second while I made a phone call. I called Terry and he gave me his blessing and I hung up and looked at Rebecca and told her that her dad would be getting a power chair within two weeks. She was so happy! This will be a definite help.

There was a reason I had my hair done today instead of yesterday. There was a reason I drew Rebecca today instead of Frank. There was a reason. Ya, I think I was put with her today because it was meant to be.

As I said, we paid nothing for the chair, we aren�t doing anything special. It�s just really nice to, as the movie goes, pay it forward.

So wrapping it up, today I got a brand new haircut, ala LA from which I stole "the look", a good deed done and a new home for my kitty. Yup. A really nice day. Oh, and we watched Kill Bill and Kill Bill II. Rent them if you haven�t seen them. Excellent. The guys have Steven Seagal, we have Uma Thurman, heh.


|




Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen