Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Tuesday, Aug. 30, 2005 10:28 P.M.

Pooped with a capital "P"

I am sitting here sick tonight. Many of you know MsLeslie. She lives, or should I say, lived in a town that is no longer there. She lived on the coast. Those houses are no longer there.

I tried calling her before the hurricane hit but since the last time we spoke, she had her number changed to a non-published number.

Before the last hurricane hit her area, I called to find that she had evacuated a few days before it was mandatory. I am sure she did this time too. But even still, my heart goes out to her. She has no home to go home to and it will be quite a while before she can even go back to see if there is anything to salvage. I hope she took her most cherished possessions.

Please include her in your prayers.

That is on my mind now, but I have had a very stressful few days recently. I haven�t said anything before now, because I had needed to wait to see how everything went.

Sunday night, my brother Pete was at work and started having chest pains. After a night in the hospital, yesterday they performed an angiogram. He had a blockage. The sent him 40 miles north to Miriam Hospital.

Westerly hospital�s Cath Lab is licensed to find the blockage, but not to perform the Angioplasy.

The procedure was a success, thank God and he is home now. Luckily, they got it before he ended up with a heart attack.

The really strange part of this story, (there always seems to be one, huh?) is that yesterday morning I went to see Pete before his procedure. After I wished him well and gave him a hug, I went to work. Around 9:30, one of our residents called me at the office and told me that she had really bad indigestion and was calling 911. She couldn�t find anyone else to drive her to the hospital. This lady is a chronic complainer but even if she weren�t, we would never offer to take someone in our own car. If it were anything serious, the ambulance service is right on the same street, just 6 doors away. They arrive almost immediately. Much safer.

At about 11:00, the phone rang and Janet answered. It was Dr. Bourganos calling to tell me that Pete did have a blockage and they were sending him up to Miriam Hospital. I thanked him and hung up. I got involved with work and it got busy. Around 11:30 the phone rang again and Janet said it was Dr. Bourganos again. I took the phone and he said, �Bosslady?� I said, �No, this is Karen�. I assumed he just forgot my name. He said, Oh, hello. This is Dr. Bourganos (which I knew) and then he proceeds to tell me that aformentioned tenant was having a heart attack, but they were going to stabilize her and send her to Miriam Hospital.

I was floored. I said �This is Peter B�s sister. You just called me a half hour ago about him!� He simply said, �Small town you have here.�

I felt really bad that Tenant was actually having a heart attack when I spoke to her earlier. She is a nice lady and she is having a triple by-pass tomorrow. I will say a prayer for her tonight.

How strange is that? Two calls from the same Cardiologist the same day for two different heart patients. Freaky. I didn�t want to answer the phone for the rest of the day, lest it be patient number three. Thankfully, that didn�t happen.

Lori picked up Pete from the hospital at 10:00 this morning. The angioplasty went well. They inserted a stent and let him spend the night and kicked him out today. They did find another block in his leg that will be fixed in a couple of weeks. Well, that isn't now, so I'm not going to worry til then.

Well, time to hit the sack. I am going to sleep well tonight. I am exhausted.


|




Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen