Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Friday, Oct. 07, 2005 9:49 A.M.

Day of Return

Well, I am back. Sort of.

Where do I start? Wow, it�s been over a week since I posted. My buddy list is all red! It will take a while to catch up on everyone. Especially, since I�m still unpacking. Yup, I still have about 15 more boxes to unpack.

The move itself really went well except for a couple of hitches. My daughter, Lori moved all but about 5 of the boxes by herself. She even packed the last 10 or 12.

It amazed us. We figured we would have about 15 or 20 boxes, total. We ended up with about 4 times that. Where did it all come from???? I can�t believe it. I gave Lori stuff every time she came over. Still we had tons.

Moving day went ok as well, except for a few things. First of all, we had a time for them to show of 12 noon to 3 pm. This was fine with us. At 11:00, the phone rang and the office told us they would be there within the hour. They were about that far away. Ok, so we order lunch and wait. 12 noon came and no movers. 12:30 and no movers. 1:00 and yup, still no movers.

At 1:15 I called the company and spoke with a lady. I told her we were in no hurry, but that since it had been 2 hours and 15 minutes since she had called to say it would be within the hour, that I was concerned that they had gotten lost.

She told me she thought they had arrived already and would check on it. 10 Minutes later, the truck showed up and for the next 2 plus hours, the lead guy did nothing but whine about how she had called and dumped on them for not being here. He said she told him that I called to complain. I assured him I had not complained but was then in for the long-haul-whine-fest. He has to travel two hours to get to work and he doesn�t get paid to travel there and if there is no work he is sent home and doesn�t get paid for the 4 hours waaaa-waaa-wasss. I didn�t give a rat�s ass about his working conditions. I didn�t tell him that, I just wanted to get moved, so I kept my mouth shut. If you know me in person, you know how hard that is for me to do.

Next, they brought a truck that has the hydraulic lift on the back instead of the long ramp. This was a good thing because we didn�t know how we were going to get Terry�s power chair moved. They offered to put that in the truck too, so we were very happy about that. Right up until they had the chair and the dryer loaded onto the lift. One guy loaded them and then went to raise it with �Nobody� on the lift to hold them. That�s when all hell broke loose. The dryer fell of just as Terry and one of the others standing there yelled for him to stop the lift. The chair almost went, but luckily, the guy caught it before it went.

We were fortunate really. The dryer was given to us about 7 years ago and it was probably 20 years old then. Last year when it started making screaming noises, I checked the price of a new one and decided for the money, I would just have that one repaired. It cost $100.00 but it works so well, I don�t want to part with it. Terry was pissed because two days before, he had spray painted iit and it looked brand new. Not so much now. The handle is dented to hell and there are scratches all over it, but hey, it still works.

These guys were idiots with a capitol �I�. Movers, they weren�t. One of them decided to put the couch on a floor dolly and push it down the ramp. The couch is a leather three cushion double end recliner. He just starts pushing it out the door and onto the ramp when it became obvious that the ramp was about 8 inches narrower than the couch. This guy rears back like he was going to just shove it through when sister Stella�s boyfriend yell for him to stop and jumped up on the ramp. In one smooth shot, Jeff picked up the end of the couch and lifted it above the ramp. Mover man had no choice but to lift his end and carry it down. Thanks Jeff.

As I said, I am far from settled. I have had this whole week off, but had to take one day and go back and clean the old place. I am still living among 15 or so unpacked boxes and each day my back has been more sore than the day before. Yesterday finished me off. I got up this morning and almost cried the pain was so bad. Terry rubbed me down with some tiger balm, but after not feeling much relief, we discovered it expired in 2001. Lori is on her way to the pharmacy to pick up some Jointritis for me. That stuff is amazing. I am taking is a little easier today. I hurt to much to do otherwise.

Still no pics until everything is in its place. Well, maybe tomorrow to show a little before and after. And I just HAVE to show you the outside. We are so happy here it is mind boggling.

One more thing to add to the bad side stuff. Lori took Goodgirl. After three days, she saturated the couch and took off. Nobody knows how she got out, but she found a way. Sister Stella lives next door and she thinks she saw her 3 days ago. I hope if she gets hungry enough she will find her way back in, but I�m not holding my breath. I can�t dwell on it or I�ll go crazy. I have to let go.

Well, I�m off to the showers so I can feel a little more human and do at least a little today. I�ll be back in a few. I still have off until Tuesday, so I should have most of it away by then.


|




Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen