Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Monday, Dec. 26, 2005 5:21 P.M.

Vacation 101

Whew. All over. But now is the start of something else. This is a good thing. Until Tuesday, January 3, 2005,

I�m on V-a-c-a-t-i-o-n!!!

I never sent out one Christmas card. I meant to. I bought them. I never sent them. Thank you to all of you who sent me one. You and you alone have the right to cross me off your Christmas card list. I am a bad, bad person. I will not use the past three months of moving, brother in the hospital twice, short staffed at work, senility or any other excuse. I am just a bad person that didn�t get to it.

Ok, next thought. I know many have commented and posted on this, but I haven�t yet. I am going to once and never mention it again. It�s about all this Merry this and Happy that nonsense. That is my opinion and I stand by it. To those of you that take issue with it, be my guest. That is your right. But let me ask a simple question. Say on your birthday, someone gives you a pair of bell bottom jeans. You hate bell bottoms and would not be caught dead in them. Would you throw them back in the gift giver�s face? Would you be insulted? I don�t think so. If someone gave you a bottle of wine and you didn�t drink, would you pour it down the drain in front of them? Of course not. You would graciously say �Thank you� and give it to someone else that would like it.

So why, oh why can�t you just smile graciously when someone extends a holiday greeting even if it isn�t the holiday you celebrate? Is there not enough evil and hatred in this word? Are there not more urgent issues to address?

If I were walking down the street and someone were to say �Happy Mexico Day� to me, I would smile and be, first of all, happy for them in their celebration and second, I would be grateful they chose me to share it with.

Greetings and salutations are meant to share. This is a good thing. If you don�t celebrate anything else, at least celebrate common sense and decency. A quick smile and a �Same to you� doesn�t mean you are going to change your religion, give up your faith or join a commune. It is a simple show of respect for a nice gesture.

Ok, I�m done with that now.

Last but not least in my vacation day ramblings, am I the only one that lives in Rhode Island or New England for that matter, that thought going outside on Christmas day in a T-shirt was strange? It was 50 degrees here folks. 50! I can�t believe it. I had to shut off the heat and open the doors yesterday because we couldn�t stand the heat.

|




Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen