Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Saturday, Jan. 13, 2007 10:03 P.M.

I am alive

Did you miss me? I have been lurking and commenting, but I haven�t been writing. Why? Remember the last post when I predicted people getting sick because of this weather? Ummm, that would be me.


I woke up last Tuesday morning, took my pills, one sip of coffee and immediately lost the pills. I called Lori and asked her to call into work for me and went back to bed. Terry made me toast when I woke around 10 and after sipping some more coffee and eating a piece and a half of toast, I fell back to sleep and never stirred until 3:30 in the afternoon.

It lasted until Thursday morning. I still wasn�t back 100% then, but Charl was out, Jan was in and out, and That Left bosslady by herself. So I went in. I still feel a bit washed out.

I got into a little battle of the wits this week. I needed to buy a Turb@ Tax program to do my taxes. I looked online as St@ples and found what I wanted. They have this thing where you can make a shopping list to take to the store. So on my list went the tax program. They had a special going that if you bought that, you could pick out one of nine different software programs. St@ples gave you a rebate and the manufacturer also gave you one, so your final cost was nothing. The were able to be filled out online. The only one that interested me was Art Explosion 300,000 clip art images. Onto the list went that too.

Reading down the list of special deal, they also listed a �FREE� $20.00 gift card in the mail. I added that to the list and gave it to Lori to go pick it all up for me.

She came back a little later and handed me the bag. She said everything I needed was in the bag, and then she left.

Later, I emptied the bag and went online to register my rebate. I did fine getting the one for the clipart, but I couldn�t find out how to get the gift card. If you aren�t up for the long story, click out now. It gets a little lengthy.

I searched all over the web site.

Step One: I went back to the gift card, but the only link just gave you the large sized picture of the card. No help.

Step Two: I called the store. Though the little girl was very sweet, she had no idea what I was talking about. I told her it was in the online circular. She looked at the store circular and said it wasn�t in hers so it must have been for online orders only. I explained that next to all the offers was the statement, �Print out your list and take it to the store.� My thought was that if you had to take the offer to the store, they would have the form to send in to get the card. She agreed with me but told me that they do that online a lot and fail to let the stores know. She gave me a number to call.

Step Three: I called and after punching the buttons from hell, I got a live person. It was the rebate center. A very nice gentleman said that I could apply for the free card online in the rebate section. Just put in the ID number on the slip and it would let me collect all the available rebates for that circular.

Step Four: I went back online and back to the rebate page and entered the ID number. It was already used for the clipart and could not be used again. (Steam starting to come out of my ears.)

Step Five: I called back the same number and got a different person. She was also very nice but explained that the rebate number I had called was just the number to check on the status of a rebate already filed. She gave me a different number to call.

Step Six: (Now I�m on a mission) I call the next number and get a very nice man that was sure he could help me. That was right up until I told him what my problem was. He told me that he too worked in the rebate department and had no forms, nor any way to help me. Instead, he gave me the number for customer service.

Step Eight: I called Corporate and got a very lovely lady. She said that when she looked it up online on her store circular, the card was there but underneath it said, �Free, after easy rebate.� Not that that would have helped her. There was no rebate number for it anyway. She took my name and address. She will be sending me a $20.00 coupon.

Number of steps to get the free card � 8

Number of hours worked to get card � 3

Average hourly rate I was paid for my trouble - $6.66

Value of satisfaction at getting what was advertised - priceless.


type="text/javascript">postCount('%%01132007%%'); | type="text/javascript">postCountTB('%%01132007%%');

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen