Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Sunday, Jan. 12, 2003 9:17 A.M.

Justice System?

At the risk of opening a can of worms here, I feel a soapbox rant coming on. I read this a few moments ago.

I am about to state an opinion here. If you agree, fine. If you don't, that's fine too. It is simply my opinion.

If you read this, please read it in it's entirety before continuing.

I don't believe in the death penalty. I believe that taking a life is wrong. Nobody, including the executioner have that right. I also believe that there are too many innocent men being released in these days due to DNA technology to be absolutely certain that the one being executed is indeed guilty. And the third reason I don't believe we should be executing prisoners is because many cases being sentenced are not being done in a fair or impartial way. Two people could commit murder on the same day in the same situation and depending on which procecuter has the case, or which judge hears it, the outcome could be totally different in each case. One could be executed and one could get sentenced and be out in 10 years.

I, for one, am sick and tired of lawmakers trying to solve a problem after it has gotten to that point. The problem needs to be solved in it's infancy.

My solution: Fix the prison system.

I worked in a jail for over 3 years. I saw over 150 inmates daily. They had TV,(free) a library, great food (free) and visitors twice weekly. They got an education (free) and if you so much as looked at them sideways, they were on the phone to their lawyers to scream that their rights had been violated. Some prisons have raquetball courts, gyms and most all have their own stores for the inmates to buy their magazines, candies and other goodies.

?????

I believe that if you do the crime, you do the time. And you lose those rights. Prison should be for what it was intended originally. To punish. Some of the programs they run in prison are a joke. Let me illustrate. You take a man that was making $5,000 a week selling drugs. Put him in jail and have him take schooling to get his diploma. All the while he is there, give him television, computers and feed him three meals a day. Then you put him back on the street and expect him to make $7.00 an hour at a fast food place. He, of course isn't going to go back to that life of fast money and drugs because the jail was such a horrible place. Ya right! Like that's gonna happen.

I say, put him in jail, feed him and keep his miserable butt uncomfortable for awhile. Take away his privelidges and stop coddling him and see if he is going to be so quick to go back. Put back the fear of prison and stop treating inmates like they are in a &^%%!*$*& country club.

Put in place a system where from California to Maine, if you rob someone with a gun, you go away for 10 years. It doesn't matter how much you paid your lawyer, it doesn't matter how many friends you ratted out and it doesn't matter who you are related to. Another thing. Toss out this concurrent

BS. If you robbed two stores with a gun, you serve 10 years for the first robbery AND THEN you serve the 10 years for the other robbery. Not at the same time. Damn, I get a kick out of that. You can pull 25 robberies and serve 10 years, or 1 and serve 10 years. Our penal system has more deals that Wal-mart!

Lawyer, "Oh jonney, you will be serving 15 years for setting that fire but if you want to set 4 more, you will serve the same amount, so why don't ya go set a few more! And if you want to tell us who taught you how to make that bomb, I can get them to drop that to 3 years. I bet I can convince them that since you were treated like a dog as a kid, we can get another years shaved off. And one other thing Johnny my boy. I hear they just got cenemax at Riker's now."

Yup folks, I think they should abolish the death penalty, but I think they should make some serious changes in the law. Tougher sentences. Consistant sentencing for the same crimes and take the entertainment value out of the prisons. Give them paper and pencils. Reading material? Give them any religious reading they request and newspapers. Feed them 3 squares a day and let them exercise the old fashioned way. Without the nautalus, treadmill or basketball court. Hell, I would have to pay $20.00 a month if I wanted to use that equipment!

One last thought on this subject. It angers me that (Terry brought this up) a man can murder someone and spend the next 20 years being fed, clothed and educated. He can be privy to all the programs out there and pay nothing for them. Yet another man can fight for his country come home with missing body parts and be expected to live on $500.00 a month with not so much as a home to live in because he can't afford the rent. He doesn't qualify for free anything except medical and foodstamps because he makes too much money. Go figure.

One more thing. As I have said, I worked in a jail for over 3 years so I know a little of what I speak and I alos have someone who is very close to me that served 17 years in prison. He agrees with me. Though he was locked up in prison, he tells me that after a time, it wasn't so bad. See? It needs to be made "So bad" that people don't want to go back. OK, I'm done now.

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen